Need help with some dimensions please.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2011, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Down Under
Posts: 30
Default Need help with some dimensions please....

Hi all, is anyone out there using an Asus Rampage III Black Edition motherboard, if so is it possible to get the dimensions of the Thunderbolt combo card that comes with it? Thanks for any help with this.
__________________

Hitmanuncut is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 12:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: Need help with some dimensions please....

sorry i could not find an exact number anywhere but by looking at several pictures I would estimate about 5-6 inches by 4-6 inchest.

I would also guess that the card itself would not be any "taller" (when installed on the board) than a video card.

If you are worred about it fitting in your case, I would myself would be willing to assume that if your case can fit an Extended ATX board, you could fit any graphics card and therefore you could assume the thundbolt card.

EDIT: found a couple of other pictures and I think the card could be 7 inches tall. I am only able to guess based comparing the MOBO specs to the size of the card however the angle of each picture is different so it is hard to be accurate.

Sorry
__________________

bigv32 is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Down Under
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with some dimensions please....

No worries with it fitting the case, I was more concerned that if it is located between two gpu's is it too tall for the sli bridge to run up and over it. Thanks for the help though as you say it is hard to be accurate from the pictures. I've looked at many also trying to get an estimate. Cheers again.
Hitmanuncut is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: Need help with some dimensions please....

did you check the Asus website? They list all the specs for there motherboards there. Not sure if this is similar to the black edition, but the rampage 3 extreme is this:
ATX Form Factor
12 inch x 10.6 inch ( 30.5 cm x 26.9 cm )
thunderdome is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Down Under
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with some dimensions please....

Yes they list the dimensions for the motherboard no worries, it's the thunderbolt card that they have no sizes for.
Hitmanuncut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need inner dimensions QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-13-2008 09:59 PM
Dimensions? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-20-2007 10:59 AM
Browse the Web in Three Dimensions office politics Off Topic Discussion 0 06-14-2006 09:09 AM
ATX PSU Dimensions VelvetyAmoeba Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-22-2005 07:30 PM
dimensions? gizmo90 Off Topic Discussion 5 01-05-2005 11:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.