Need help with setting up a RAID array - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2008, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Need help with setting up a RAID array

I'm nearly ready to set up my new system, but I've never configured a RAID array before. I want to install Windows Vista Ultimate (64-bit) onto a hardware array (RAID 0), and I understand that this requires that I have the necessary drivers for my RAID controller on a floppy disk, and that all hardware controllers should come with this disk.

But, I also have read that some motherboards come with onboard RAID controllers. I'm not exactly sure if mine does.

This is what I have =

CoolerMaster Cosmos Tower
Corsair HX1000W Modular Power Supply
Asus Striker II Extreme (nForce 790i Ultra SLI) Motherboard
2 Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000RPM 300GB Hard Drives
Asus ENGTX260 896M DDR3 Graphics Card
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme CPU heatsink

I can't find anywhere in the Motherboard manual where it specifically states that it has a RAID controller, nor any RAID drivers on the disks.
This is a pretty new MB, so I figured that it might have it?

Do I need to buy a RAID controller card? If so, any recommendations?

TerraformScott is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Need help with setting up a RAID array

According to this site Overclock3D.Net :: Review :: Asus Striker II Extreme 790i DDR3 Motherboard :: Introduction & Specifications it does have an onboard raid controler.

Yes, you will have to dl the raid drivers onto a floppy so you can install them when windows ask for any 3rd party drivers during installation.

meat_helmet is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help with setting up a RAID array

Thanks so much!

I now understand that the bit where the link states 'NVIDIA MediaShield RAID supports RAID 0, 1, 0+1, 5 and JBOD configuration across SATA drives JMIcron JMB363 SATA controller' is what I was looking for. Not glaringly obvious to a newbie...

The only thing now that has to be clarified is the exact driver to be implemented. I downloaded this random driver =


Will this work?, or do I have to download a special driver for my MB and/or Harddrives?

Forgive me, but ignorance is not always bliss...
TerraformScott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebuild Raid 1 Array After HD Failure Gunsmith65 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 11-14-2008 04:25 PM
Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition blue4paper Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-14-2008 08:41 PM
Help with Setting up RAID O with EVGA 680i tallguy22 Overclocking and Modding 3 11-05-2007 06:57 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 10:26 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.