Need help with Ram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2009, 04:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Than I missunderstood you. I just posted that Memory Bank link for the OP. Sounded like he was new to computers, and from what I've seen a good amount of people hear a filled up memory bank and they think it's putting a stick of memory in a DIMM slot.
Ah right, that makes more sense now
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post

Also, "filing up memory banks" is not what most people think it is.

Memory Banks and Package Bit Width
whoa dude, this article is from 1997. that's really old. i dont even know if half the stuff they said can be applied to modern tech.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Ok it's settled, I'm going for the OCZ... I was going to get the Patriot, but didn't realize lower numbers = better, and I found some more articles to back that up, so I'm glad I asked here first.


Thanks,
Joshua aka LuDawg
__________________

LuDawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
Dell precision 650 workstation 1Gb ram trouble cmfugen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-16-2008 02:47 AM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.