Need help with Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2009, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default Need help with Ram

Which sticks should I buy?

Patriot Signature 2gb - Timing 3-4-4-8 - $57.99 (after mail-in rebate)
Newegg.com - Patriot Signature 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory - Desktop Memory

or

OCZ Platinum 2gb - Timing 2-3-2-5 - $69.99
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I want to know which Timing is better, higher numbers or lower numbers? I'm thinking higher numbers. And I know OCZ is a good brand (but could those Patriot be good as well), I have two sticks from OCZ now 1gb x 512mb (had them for 3 years, they have worked great). If you know of any other deals, like great Timing for a Great Price, let me know... also if you know of a 4gb sticks great deal, let me know that as well... I'd rather buy 4gigs and sell my 1 gig. My motherboard can only support 4 gigs and can only support DDR 400, also Dual Channel compatible. I'm thinking the Patriot is an awesome buy, but I want to make sure before I buy it in the next morning or two (again, if you know of any other great deals, let me know). Also, should I just buy two kits of the Patriot, to make 4 gigs?... as I see how the DDR 400s seem to be getting more and more expensive, so I should just go ahead and max out my Motherboard?


Thanks,
Joshua aka LuDawg
__________________

LuDawg is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need help with Ram

the OCZ is better and patriot makes good ram too.

as far as timings go the lower the number the faster.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Need help with Ram

The number of sticks you should get depends on how many RAM slots your mobo has - since your mobo's max is 4GB, there are two combinations:
2 slots means you should get 2x2GB
4 slots means you should get two 2x1GB

Keep in mind that if you don't have a 64-bit operating system, you will only see around 3.5GB of the 4GB.

Maxing out your motherboard sooner rather than later would be a good idea.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need help with Ram

it's not going to matter much if you get the 2x1GB (getting 2 of the 2x1GB for total of 4GB ) set you listed or a 2x2GB set because your mobo only supports up to 4GB anyways. i would go for what ever is the cheapest and best performing ram.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Need help with Ram

I do want the best ram for my PC, so I should go with the OCZ, seeing as the timing is better. I didn't know lower timing = better, that's good to know. I also have 4 ram slots, so 4 x 1gigs or better then 2 x 2gigs, that's good to know too. I think I'll go with the OCZ, inless someone has a link to better deal... like same OCZ I have, but cheaper at another place ... or something differrent.
LuDawg is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need help with Ram

newegg dont even have any 4GB set of DDR400 ram.

so getting 2 of the OCZ kits would be perfect.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Need help with Ram

No no no, 4x1 is not better than 2x2.

Dual-channel architecture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Also, "filing up memory banks" is not what most people think it is.

Memory Banks and Package Bit Width
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
No no no, 4x1 is not better than 2x2.
I never said it was better. They're equal. And I don't see anyone else who said so :P

And having 4x1 will have two sticks running in dual-channel, and another two sticks running in dual-channel. I was recently running a similar setup (2x2GB + 2x1GB), each running in dual-channel according to CPU-Z.

I have no idea what you mean by 'filling up memory banks'.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
No no no, 4x1 is not better than 2x2.

Dual-channel architecture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Also, "filing up memory banks" is not what most people think it is.

Memory Banks and Package Bit Width
who said it was i only said that there was no point in getting a 2x2GB set when there was a good 2x1gb set for a good price too
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Need help with Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I never said it was better. They're equal.

And having 4x1 will have two sticks running in dual-channel, and another two sticks running in dual-channel. I was recently running a similar setup (2x2GB + 2x1GB), each running in dual-channel according to CPU-Z.

I have no idea what you mean by 'filling up memory banks'.
Than I missunderstood you. I just posted that Memory Bank link for the OP. Sounded like he was new to computers, and from what I've seen a good amount of people hear a filled up memory bank and they think it's putting a stick of memory in a DIMM slot.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
Dell precision 650 workstation 1Gb ram trouble cmfugen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-16-2008 02:47 AM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.