need help with multi monitor systems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2015, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Default

I have a hp laptop with following configuration...
-intel core i7 processor
-8 gb ddr3 ram
-NVIDIA Geforce gt 840m 2gb graphics
-1 tb hdd
-windows 8.1 64bit architecture

I wanted to know weather i can connect three monitors simultaneously for gaming
If yes pls describe with steps....
Ny hlp would be appreciated
__________________

sanmoh hombal 1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

Do you want to span across all 3? No. GPU is way too weak.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Default

PP Mguire....
Pls can u elaborate...
It would b gr8 help
sanmoh hombal 1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

He means you'll only be able to game on 1 screen rather than span across all 3.

Also, are you trying to hook up 2 external monitors so you have 2 external + 1 laptop screen, or 3 external + 1 laptop screen? Because a lot of times...you can only hook up 1 or 2 + laptop screen going at the same time.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Default

I ws askin to hook up 3 monitors + a laptop
Foh gamin .... bt more prominently.... foh editin
sanmoh hombal 1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

Post the model # of your laptop.

Do you even have enough video outputs on the laptop for that many?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Default

HP - P073tx
N yea i hav usb video adapters
sanmoh hombal 1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanmoh hombal 1997 View Post
I ws askin to hook up 3 monitors + a laptop
Foh gamin .... bt more prominently.... foh editin
So you want 4 total monitors? 3 external, one as laptop monitor?
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 12:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

There is no way he'll be able to do anything substantial (across all the screens at the same time) with 4 screens on that graphics card. There's just not enough power in the card. This is why desktop setups are much better for multi-screen stuffs, especially when you start getting 3 or 4+ screens.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 01:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: need help with multi monitor systems

OP said he's using USB video adapters, so he wouldn't be able to span across those anyway.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlackBox Security Monitor, Monitor Computer Systems In A Network Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-07-2010 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.