Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2014, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

A friend of mine recently agreed to helping me built a computer but he jumped ship and left me with everything I need to built it, save for a proper processor.

Since this is my first build I have no clue as to how to identify what type of CPU goes into it.

Could anyone here identify the slot and recommend a possible cpu(s)? In addition a resource for future use to help me identify it myself would be splendid

The mother board model is (as far as I can tell) a Dell 5dn3x.

Here is an image of the cpu slot


Thank you in advance : )
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140720_132714.jpg (118.3 KB, 5 views)
__________________

Shade747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

Well the Dell 5dn3x is a first gen I7 1366 socket
dell 5dn3x mainboard specs
If you can take a pic of the whole motherboard and especially any writing on it like the "RM 0119 you can see in the pic it would help dearly identifying it.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

Here you go. I found the mark and also took some pictures of the other areas. (Sorry about the orientation, my phone is wonky at times)

1405896386030.jpg

1405896416162.jpg

1405896444672.jpg

1405896471024.jpg
Shade747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

Look for a used i7 920, 930, or 950 to mate to that board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

YUP it's def a 1366 first gen i series Intel board
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

Easiest way to tell without even Googling. Triple channel RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 03:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

I seen that after the post I had, Triple channel didn't seem to last all that long LOL, Buddy of mine that built a system similar to mine is still holding on his 920 on a ASUS board. Might try to get it from him to build another beater system and use my Q9550 for a home server for teamspeak and such once my house is all set to move in. Would work out well so I could still use the 470's in SLI, I don't have SLI on that system so the second 470 is on a shelf for now.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 01:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need Help Identifying a CPU Slot

Was superseded by quad channel. Why exactly do you need two gaming rigs?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help identifying this computer Talkashie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-31-2013 03:31 AM
Power surge caused problems... need help identifying them Antares Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-26-2012 05:19 PM
pcie x16 slot 1 won't work but slot 2 will? on P5NSLI mobo by asus zacht23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-06-2011 09:25 PM
PCIE card won't recognise in Slot 1, but OK in slot 2. Antec-User Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-05-2008 03:38 PM
Need help identifying a Farallon ethernet card! lvconfusion Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-18-2005 02:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.