need help for high performance - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2007, 10:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: need help for high performance

I would get Q6600 instead of E6850
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 10:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
I would get Q6600 instead of E6850
can it be oc to 3ghz though
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 10:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: need help for high performance

yes, but you will of course be able to OC a 6850 beyond 3Ghz as well.

With good aftermarket air cooling in a good case, 3.2-3.4 should be well within reach for a q6600, if not more. I've seen overclocks of 4+Ghz for a 6850.

High Ghz is prolly better for gaming, but I would go with the Q6600- prolly better for the future. Or if you run a lot of different programs at once. Games will no doubt start to make use of 4 cores before too long.
Andyf is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 10:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

thats why i wanted the 6850, i want to oc it to 4ghz, i play very intense FPS so i need as much as i can get,
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 10:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: need help for high performance

Yeah, depending upon the game, I would say the GPU tends to affect FPS FPS (hehe) more
Andyf is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 10:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

Yes (im not trying to be rude but im not a noob) So how many fps do you think i could get with this system

8800gt 512mb
6850 oc to 4ghz
2gb crucial ballistix ddr2 1066 and i think its pc4 8000 (something like that)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:54 AM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: need help for high performance

dude it wont be like, easy to oc a 6850 that far. you will need serious cooling for that, on top of some pretty sharp overclocking ability...not to mention luck lol.
i play COD4, BF2, ETQW, COH, FEAR with my 3600 and an 8800GT and have EXCELENT framerates. and that goes if i have it clocked at 2.6ghz or 3.1ghz.
you will not notice a difference in a q6600 @ 3-3.4ghz vs a 6850 @ 4ghz.
you wont have a noticeable difference between a q6600 @ 3ghz and a 6400. ie you wont be able to look at the game during play and say, "wow...i can tell a difference between the q6600 and the 6400" if they were side by side. you probably couldn't see any difference between my 3600 @3ghz and a q6600 @ 3ghz...playing a game side by side. benchmarks, maybe a small difference between the 6400 and q6600, bigger difference between my 3600 and a q6600, obviously. my point is, framerates are usually more dependent on the quality of your video card, not the extreme level of OC on your cpu. any dual core cpu clocked over about 2.5ghz (if the pci bus frequency is left stock at 2500mhz) will have relatively equal framerates. relative being you arent going to sit there and actually SEE the difference.
there is no noticeable difference between 70FPS and 95FPS, ya know?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: need help for high performance

I would get Q6600 because future game will more optimized for quad cores

Just watch this video
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

yes i know there won't be that muc difference but i like perfection. I will probably go with the q6600 though. and go with a quad core later.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: need help for high performance

Q6600 is a quad core...

Its really up to you, you'll prolly find people will advise quad core on this site.
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Low Video Performance ??? Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-23-2007 11:11 PM
Half Life 2: Episode 2 Quick Performance Preview Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-10-2007 04:13 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.