Need help finding a good AGP Video card ><! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2007, 11:34 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fayt19
yes of course. But you think a 7600GT and another GB of ram is better then a 7950GT?

I plan on playing Battlefield, WoW, CS, and Unreal Tournament Series like 2142
I would really lean towards getting PCI-E and a 7950 GT. the 7950 GT will be significantly better.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:52 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

well the 7600GT is a PCI express too. But yeah a 7950GT sounds like a good buy. I just dont know if its worth getting it over a 7600GT and 1GB of Ram. Anyone else have an opinion?
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 03:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 7600 GT has 12 pixel pipelines, the 7950 GT has 24. it has a lot more raw power than the 7600 GT.

Plus, you can voltmod the 7950 GT's.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 03:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

whats this "Voltmod"?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 08:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

The 7950 is far better than a 7600gt. The thing is though, out of the games you listed only battlefield 2142 would take advantage of it. But BF2142 would also take advantage of the 2gb of ram. I would say either way would be good but the 7950 would be overall better for newer games.
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 09:14 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

I have a XFX 7600GT runs pretty much every game on high never had problems with it i love it. I would go with more ram and the 7600GT.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:49 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

Motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131569 - $72.99

eVGA Geforce 7950GT - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130061 - $260.99

CORSAIR 1GB DDR 400 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145505 - $64.99

Rosewill 600W - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182032 - $82.99

Total - $482.96

With this stuff not only i get the 7950GT but i also get the 1GB of RAM. =P hows it look?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:29 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Everything looks fine, except for the powersupply.

When buying a powersupply you dont nessesarily just look for raw voltage, you look more at how much 12v amps it has... voltage doesnt matter as much, 500w should be more than enough. (if you get a good brand)

Look at this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153028

You can get something cheaper if you want, im just sayin you get WAY more for the buck with the thermaltake one i suggested

Btw that computer that you listed above will rock the **** outa WoW..
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 07:49 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

you know...that was accually a question of mine. The video card recommends a 12v of 28 amps. I cant find anywhere on ANY power suppy that says 12v of 28 amps = \.

the only thing i see is +3.3V@30A, +5V@28A, +12V1@14A, +12V2@15A, -12V@0.3A, +5VSB@2A and if my guess is right then the +12V1 and +12V2 are @ 14 and 15A which im guessing is amps. Is that addes together? or are they running at 14 and 15 amps which to my knowledge is a lot less then 28 ><

Edit: this PSU also says

Over power protection:

+5V output 7.0 Vmax
+3.3V output 4.5 Vmax
+12V output 15. 6 Vmax


Ps. That PSU says it does NOT have a PCIE Connector...isnt that needed?

ReEdit: I just found this in the comment from Newegg on that PSU.

Cons: Amperage on the 12v rail is not enough for some of the high-end video cards. I was trying to run my 512MB eVGA GeForce 7950 KO and system was constantly rebooting. Went to other store and got 630W PSU - fixed the problem. Although it's my fault. Would pay more attention to such details. RMA'ed back to NewEgg.
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.