need help with dual monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2009, 02:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default need help with dual monitors

i want to hook my 720 hdtv and my desktop monitor to one computer how do i do that
__________________

xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: need help with duel monitors

What model is the tv?
What model is your graphics card?

I need more details to help heres some pondering:
You can use a dvi-hdmi cable to connect to the tv
You can use a dvi- component to connect to the tv
You can use D-sub (VGA) to component to the tv
Some tv's have a pc port and you can use a VGA cable
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 03:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default Re: need help with duel monitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
What model is the tv?
What model is your graphics card?

I need more details to help heres some pondering:
You can use a dvi-hdmi cable to connect to the tv
You can use a dvi- component to connect to the tv
You can use D-sub (VGA) to component to the tv
Some tv's have a pc port and you can use a VGA cable
i have a vizio tv dont know modle #
im getting a quadro fx 1700 for my cpu
my tv has a vga port im using my laptop on it now


i just dont know if i need a connector to run both to my pc
xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: need help with duel monitors

that card has an s-video tv out so you can hook it up that way.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

with duel monitors can i use to diffrent screen sizes my tv is 42 in and my monitor is19 in
xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

Yes you can choose whatever resolutions you desire as long as the monitor and tv support them.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

whats the best resulution for a 19inch and a 42 inch
xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

19 = 1440x900
42 = 1366x768
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

depends on what resolutions they can use. what is the model of each or do you know the maximum resolution they can show? are they widescreen 16:9 or standard 4:3?

I prefer the highest resolution my monitor can use.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
19 = 1440x900
assuming it is a 16:9 i believe
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: need help with dual monitors

if it's a square then 1280x1024
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver issues with Ati 4800 series? Dual Monitors a problem? Chad711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-30-2008 04:23 PM
dual monitors Monkey PC Gaming 2 10-29-2008 04:29 PM
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 10:59 AM
8800GTS (g92) + dual monitors KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 02-26-2008 07:48 PM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.