Need help converting to core due 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 05:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default Need help converting to core due 2

Hi

At the moment i run my comp with these specs.

Amd athlon 64bit 3500+
MSI Neo 4 motherboard
2gb ddr valueselect corsair ram
XFX 7800GTX
200gb HD with xp pro x64 OEM
160gb with vista RC1

Now the only problem i have at the moment is my 3500 and mobo are going out of date quickly, now my birthdays next monday and im hoping to ask or use my birthday money to upgrade the Processor and mobo.

I have my heart set on a core duo. And to have a mobo with alot of upgrade potential but not to break the bank as most new mobos have DDR2 looks like ill be buying new ram but if the ram will work with the new mobo ill be even happier.

So i need your advise in what to get. This machine is used with visual basic and is used for gaming.

so i need a:
*new mobo
*core duo processor
*and 2gb worth of DDR2 ram.

Can anyone recommend me some?

Matt
__________________

matthab is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 05:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Whats your budget?

Assuming it is quite low I would say a E6300, Gigabyte DS3 and something like GEIL 2GB value.

Do you have a prefered site to buy off? If not where are you from?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default

yeh i buy off ebuyer or overclockers

and im planning to spend about £400 on the whole update, but as little as possible!
matthab is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

E6400 - 154.00 (inc VAT)
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/112708/rb/23009296457
ASUS P5B DLX - 130.00 (inc VAT)
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/113963/rb/23009352049
Kingston Valueram 2Gb 667MHz DDR2 (2x1GB) - 183.00 (inc VAT)
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/91124/rb/23009390551
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 07:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default

wow thats a good set up just looked at benches for that processor and its almost wondering into FX speeds and its only £150.

Thanks much appreciated.

if anyone else wants to have there say there more than welcome!
matthab is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default

ive changed the spec abit and just wondering if this will work:

Asus P5N32-SLi SE Deluxe nForce4 SLi X16 (Socket 775) PCI-Express Motherboard
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=MB-174-AS

Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2-5400C4 TwinX (2x1GB)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=MY-095-CS

Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13ghz - Skt775 Fsb1066 2mb Cache Boxed In
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/112708

Total - £477.77
__________________

matthab is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.