need help chosing a mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2006, 02:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004
Default need help chosing a mobo

ok heres my specs right now

Case - Kingwin Sk523
CPU - E6600
Mobo - Gigabyte DS3
Memory - G skill ddr2667 2X1gb
PSU - Antec True power 550watt
Harddrive - SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series 250GB

my budget is 815 and i dont need a video card (i wont be getting one for a while)

i was wondering if i should drop the hared drive and just use my current 100gb ide drive and upgrade the mobo (dont worry later i will definatly upgrade the hard drive to sata).
the gigabyte is about 150 and if i drop the hard drive i will be able to spend $220 on a mobo

what should i do? and if you could recomend me a good mobo i will be ordering sometime this week

fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219

that is a pretty decent mobo from what i have heard. is there no way that you can upgrade to ddr800? that would be a much better memory to run as it will oc much better for you. about the hdd, just get what you need, if you like to download a ton of crap(like me) then you get two 320 gb 7200.10 seagates and set them in raid 0 lolz.

luke87 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead

MSI has a mobo that supports conroe, it's only $96, runs o nthe same P965 chipset so it'll be able to run what you need, and you save $50.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat

The DS3 has been getting GREAT OC results. Peopel are taking conroes over 3.0Ghz in that (google Conroe DS3 or something).

I would recommend it if you can get past the look of it. Im waiting for the DS4 to come out.
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

I just got the ASUS P5B today in the mail.

If you're going for overclocking go with the Gigabyte DS3
I've seen other forums where people are getting 3.4ghz out of an E6300 retail.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique

If you go to a major overclocking site, you can read about E6600's being taken to over 5.0Ghz. That's right, five Ghz. Super-pi scores of under 10 seconds.

Dang, that's just insane.


dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.