Need help on choosing PC PARTS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 02:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

here's a stupid question.

Why create 2 threads for the same thing... one in High Performance section. And one in the General section?? Just titled different????

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=136827

I understand wanting to get second/third opinions and all, but...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Longboarder - For an SLI motherboard, try the one I was going to originally include in this build; ASUS P5B Deluxe. Its not that much better than the P5B-E, but if you want SLI and some other goodies, go with this one as its actually one of the cheaper SLI motherboards.

As for RAID 0, it DOES increase data access rates. You have to decide whether its worth it to you to get two drives for the storage of one, but faster speeds. The performance granted with 10K RPM HDDs is a little greater than a RAID 0 setup, but the HDDs also cost more, and don't give quite as much storage room.

Sidenote: I'm not very well-read on Master/Slave setups, they were...before my time. However, with SATA HDDs, there is no Master/Slave designation. Each HDD is it's own. So basically with SATA, you would not be keeping the data on a Slave HDD, just a seperate HDD.

Also note that the P5B Deluxe has 7 SATA ports, but only 1 PATA port (2 devices on one port). So you will only be able to connect 2 CD/DVD drives or 2 IDE Hard Drives, or one of each.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

TriEclipse

I misspoke about calling the drive a slave, it's a SATA HDD, I'm just used to calling my data drive the slave from older PC setups.

I only have 60GB on the OS HDD of my current PC (and that could be cut in half with ease) so I'm not worried about space, I'd rather spend the money on speed. What would you recommend for a 10K RPM HDD?

Also, I'm not read up on when Vista is going to be released, how horrible would it be to put Win 2000 on the system you laid out until I could buy a copy of Vista? I'd hate to have to buy XP and then pay for an upgrade unless it's the only thing to do.

Thanks for the leads

Sleeeeep :tired: must sleeeep
Longboardr71 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Vista is released January 30th. If you do install an OS other than XP, be sure to reformat the HDD before installing Vista, unless you're planning to upgrade.

10K RPM Hard Drives aren't cheap. There is a 36.7GB version ($105) which is what I would recommend for you, but lots of people prefer the 74GB version ($160). Also a 150GB 16MB cache version ($220). But on your budget, you'd be better off going with a regular 7200RPM HDD.

Yes, Sleep. Lovely thing. I should try it sometime. (1:34am) :amazed:
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Well I looked deeper into the various products you recommended and I really like what I'm seeing as peoples reviews and how it matches up in the direction I was already going. I added a little bit to the original $1400 rig. I went with the TT Tsunami case, threw 2 of the 36.7GB 10K drives in for RAID 0 and added a second DVD drive. The system sits at $1600 shipped so that's acceptable.

Now it's question time again

I'd like to order everything I need to have a running PC in one order. For instance say they didn't send out a SATA cable with the drives, I checked and they do, but that would suck if I'm out chasing down hardware that I didn't order cause I'm a n00b, instead of pulling my hair out figuring out how to put this together

Am I missing anything simple?
__________________

Longboardr71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.