Need help with building a new gaming computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 01:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Need help with building a new gaming computer

I am looking for some help on parts to buy for a gaming computer that can handle games such as Sims 2, and Guild Wars mainly. I don't want to spend too much money, so can anyone help me out. I already have a mouse, keyboard, and monitor
__________________

flamesofdeath1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Are you going to build a new system, or upgrade. Also, what is your budget.
__________________

AK4Life is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I am going to build a new system. My budget is around 400
flamesofdeath1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Don't think 400 will cut it unfortuanetly if you need to do a new build. What do you have now? Maybe you can just slap in a new video card and ram.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I have about a 7 yr. old computer, so I don't think anything in it will do
flamesofdeath1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Well, you are surely going to need $1000+ for a decent gaming rig... newer games might still be hard to play on a $1000 budget.
AK4Life is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

what about for games such as sims 2, and guild wars? Can I play these games on a system that is less than $1000
flamesofdeath1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default

yes, you can. I myself play guildwars, i owned btw, but enuf about me you want it at what settings?
AK4Life is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 03:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I want to be able to play both the sims 2 and guild wars fairly well
flamesofdeath1 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 03:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Mobo - MSI Neo4 K8N Platinum $100
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130484

GPU - eVGA 6800GS $180
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130267

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3800+ $282
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103531

Antec 480W TruePowerII $80
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103929

RAM - OCZ Performance 1GB(512x2) $99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227031

Total - $741

I think i covered all the required stuff......
__________________

AK4Life is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.