Need Help building a gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default Need Help building a gaming PC

I'm willing to spend $1100 excluding tax (canadian). I'd like to order the parts from www.tigerdirect.ca. Could anyone reccomend me which parts to use.

P.S. I wouldn't like to use Intel processors, AMD only.
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Did you want AMD or AM2?

Do you overclock?

Do you have the monitor already? Keyboard, mouse?

Answer these questions and I will make a quick workup of what some of the options are.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Did you want AMD or AM2?

Do you overclock?

Do you have the monitor already? Keyboard, mouse?

Answer these questions and I will make a quick workup of what some of the options are.
Um AM2 Is AMD. :P

Well I don't think you have to worry about anyone reccomending a Intel cpu for gamming. :P (Excluding their new CPU line, cause I don't know enough about them nor have they been out long enough to judge fully)

I won't give you a full build Just some reccomendations.

For a DVD Burner I reccomend Optorite or Plextor.
For Harddrives, Look at seagate or western digital SATA2 w/16MB Cache.

And for a power supply I reccomend Antec TrueControl 550Watt.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

LoL, AM1 or AM2 t hen, 939 or AM2 =P
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
LoL, AM1 or AM2 t hen, 939 or AM2 =P
I was thinking of using AMD 62 X2 processor (socket 939) since i think i have enough money. However, if you reccomend the basic AMD 64 itself, that's all right.
I have to go for now. I'll be back tonight.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I will check it out later today and get some prices.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Did you want AMD or AM2?

Do you overclock?

Do you have the monitor already? Keyboard, mouse?

Answer these questions and I will make a quick workup of what some of the options are.
Just a computer, no need to worry about keyboard, mouse or monitor. I'm not sure about over-clocking. I don't know too much about it.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

AMD Athlon X2 4600 ($325.99)

Motherboard ($152.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&Sku=A455-2112

Power Supply ($106.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...997&CatId=2036

Video Card ($172.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...ab=11&NoMapp=0

Case ($95.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

CD/DVD Burner ($63.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&Sku=S167-4212

Hard Drive ($74.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&Sku=TSD-160M4

Memory ($264.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...669&CatId=1082

These are the parts i was thinking of buying after researching a bit. Are there any important parts that i'm missing? I know some of them are not too good so i was wondering if you have a better suggestion to let me know (www.tigerdirect.ca only).
P.S. This is a little over my limit so if you suggest another part, try to keep around the same price.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i knwo you said no intel but you should really consider conroe because you can build a conroe system that will blow any amd system out there right now
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
i knwo you said no intel but you should really consider conroe because you can build a conroe system that will blow any amd system out there right now
I heard people talking about conroe and all these other things but what are they and what do they mean. And if i was to get it, how expensive would it be?
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.