Need help bad - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2013, 02:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need help bad

Awesome. I might do that. I can go over budget if I need to. I just want to stay around my budget. Thanks for all the help guys.
__________________

Jakel06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need help bad

Then replace the i3 with the i5 3330 and you're golden if you can afford it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Need help bad

Mguire, why run RAM at 1.65V when he can get stock ram @ 1600 MHz CL9 at 1.5V only? Then he can overclock those even beyond 1600 MHz if he wants to up the volts. It's only 7$ difference, I can't see why he shouldn't do the RAM exchange. In fact I'd do it if I'm in his place.
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need help bad

You won't get to 1866 on those Vengeance RAM even if you put them to 1.65v. You would have to loosen the timings making the swap over moot. Either RAM set will give him the exact same real world performance whether the timings are 11s or 9s.

Besides that, I only linked the XMS because Jason already had the link there, and they are cheaper. Upping only a few bucks I would get these instead if I was in his place.
Patriot Intel Extreme Master, Limited Edition 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model PVI38G160C9K - Newegg.com

I know at 10s and 1.65v they will do 1866, but doesn't really matter much as real world performance won't change much between anything mentioned here.

Edit: To go even further I bet if I took the Vengeance and XMS apart the ICs would probably be the same. Different heatspreader, name, and XMP profile with the same RAM stick underneath.
Edit 2: For a few more I bet these would do 2133 @ 11s.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820104362
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Need help bad

i just made the build before i saw the budget.

the only thing i would change would be to the 660 ti that pp linked. if the budget could take it, go for the i5, but youll want the gpu power over the cpu power. once over a 660 ti, i would go for added cpu power.

re: ram. for a couple of bucks, who cares? you arent going to be able to notice any difference.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Need help bad

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
i just made the build before i saw the budget.

the only thing i would change would be to the 660 ti that pp linked. if the budget could take it, go for the i5, but youll want the gpu power over the cpu power. once over a 660 ti, i would go for added cpu power.

re: ram. for a couple of bucks, who cares? you arent going to be able to notice any difference.
There have been reviews that better ram will result in better minimum FPS in games.
If it's just a difference of a few bucks, why go for something that's theoretically slower?
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Need help bad

cool.

link?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need help bad

RAM speed, as in the difference between 1600 and 2133. I can sit here and tell you, it's not worth the cost, and the FPS difference RAM speed makes is incredibly minimal. 1-3 at best.

Google and any good site will tell you, RAM is far from being a system bottleneck for any task. It's not worth dropping a ton of cash over.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:15 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Need help bad

The review I'm telling you about is from a user experience on another website.
Either way I still don't understand why you're so stubborn on giving him something that's theoretically worse... Tighter timings are theoretically better than higher looser timings. If he can buy better RAM within almost the same price, why not really?
Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need help bad

Who said I was stubborn? I already told you I linked what I did originally because it was simply easier to copy Jason's link because I knew it was the cheapest decent kit of RAM. I also already put what I would purchase if he wants to spend a few extra bucks. I was simply stating exactly why none of it matters. Look at my sig, I have 64GB of RAM that can run 2133, and OC to 2400 if I wanted to. I run them at 1600 with 9's for timings. If I wanted to run 1.65v I could run at 8's or maybe 7's if I tried. Do I waste my time? No, because it doesn't matter.
If you don't believe me, by all means take a look at one of my friends reviews who shows the difference between 1333 and 2666 on a game using the HD4000 which uses system RAM for VRAM. So technically faster RAM speeds should help FPS. The difference here? 2fps. When using an actual graphics card, probably going to be the same or less.

Kingston HyperX Predator 2666MHz 8GB Memory | Bjorn3D.com
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.