Need help with AMD CPU selection. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

excuse double posting
__________________

Cunder is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

AMD's new CPU's are not far off. socket AM2 will support all their upcoming CPU's (including those designed for AM2+ and AM3)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

Kingston KVR400X64C3AK2/2G 2GB Kit DDR400 PC3200 Memory Retail at ZipZoomfly

this will explain more of what Ram I actully have but they are PC3200 DDR400 ram
Cunder is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 02:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

i believe your going to be restriced to a PD/p4 or s939 build or older. The new Am2's and c2d's require ddr2. You'll be looking at a little more than $120 for a mobo/cpu combo.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 02:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

Well you can use this RAM.. You'll need a S939 Micro ATX mobo though. I don't know which ones are good but here's a list of all the ones that you can use (from Newegg): Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Couple that with a S939 X2 3800+.

Either that, or sell the RAM and get an AM2 system with a 3600 brisbane and decent RAM. $65(3600+) +$70(Biostar TForce550) + $130(G.Skill 2GB NQ DDR2-800). Plus, you'd actually be able to overclock it since you wouldn't be limited to MATX boards. Why didn't he just RMA it though?
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 02:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

I don't know why he didn't RMA, his not to bright with this stuff anymore. The guy got everything and notice the motherboard needed a 240pin instead of a 184pin. So the way he handles the problem is giving them to me. And have me to deal with it he always does this when it screws up on computer parts and have me deal with it and figure out how I can put all this stuff together.

I wont even know how to sell this RAM I don't wanna take the whole online bidding route. So they probably just sit here in the house collecting dust while I go off and buy new parts. Lol man this is fustrating stuff.

I guess I'll do the 2nd choice mrfluffles and leave out the selling of the Ram i have. And deal with buying a whole computer just will take me longer to get it all together now.
Cunder is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

You can sell things on forums like this.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 11:14 AM   #18 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Need help with AMD CPU selection.

Ebay is actually a VERY safe place to sell things, paypal is great imo and they will keep you from getting ripped off
and stop *****ing about the ram, your brother gave it to you for FREE!!!
and considering you only have 120 for a cpu and mobo it hink he helped you out alot with this
just build an AMD skt939 build they arent bad they are jst outdated
my best friend still uses hisskt939 build and for games it works flawlessly
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard selection sammybaines New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-29-2007 10:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.