Need Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Need Help!

Hello all I am a fps gamer here in trouble. I have never really owned a gaming pc I have always been a console gamer but recently I have moved onto pc gaming. I have caught up on all the tech info but I still have a problem. I am planning onto moving to CoD4 and ET:QW. The pc I am on now will lag like **** in both games. I am on a extreme tight budget and in need of a new pc for these games. I am planning on selling an older computer I have. HP Media Center m1170n Desktop PC *-* Product Specifications* thats the link for the specifications. How much do you think I can sell that computer for. HP Pavilion Media Center a1420n Desktop PC*-* Product Specifications* and for the one I am now. How much do you guys think I can sell that for or do you guys think I should stick with it and upgrade it. Thanks!
__________________

nitrousvip3r is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Need Help!

sorry man, but both computers aren't very good because they are older single core processor's with weak videocards. Honestly, I say no more than $140 for each one, and That's if you're lucky.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Need Help!

Well you could throw a 7900gs into one of them or a x1950pro and it wont lag, even with the p4.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need Help!

should I add 1 x 2 ddr2 533 (pc4200) ram in the a1420n and the 7900 gs and a 400 watt psu or stronger?
nitrousvip3r is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Need Help!

The money you would spend doing that could get you an am2 mobo and dual core cpu, and 1gb ddr2 ram.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Need Help!

if he's getting a whole new setup there's no reason to go AMD
e2180 or e6550 depending on budget
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: Need Help!

eck i dont like either one, processor wise your downgrading with the new one, memory wise, well the only plus is the ddr2, but the older system will carry more memory in the ddr interface. i dunno, if it were me id buy something up to date, or build my own. either way, if you want to play cod4 or other directx10 games you will have to buy a new video card.
the_patriot2008 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need Help!

Depending on the software with them, both computers would sell on ebay for a couple hundred each easy. While they aren't top-o-the-line, they are still fairly up to date for everyday computing. The first one would actually make a great media center PC, but the second would need a GFX card to really be a decent one.

With $400-$500, you have the start of a decent low-end gaming system. If you an add some to it, you will be set for sure.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need Help!

well I have $186 I can spend on an upgrade. I will up grade the a1420n by adding a XFX 8600GT Newegg.com - XFX PVT84JYAJG GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail and a Seasonic 400 watt power supply Newegg.com - SeaSonic SS-400ES ATX12V V2.2, 400W, PFC, 80+, PCI-Express (6Pin), Power Supply - OEM . I can add the Pentium 4 3.0 GHz to the a1420n also. Then from there I am going to save up for a new build.
nitrousvip3r is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need Help!

Don't get the 8600. It's not that that great of a card.

Newegg.com - XFX PVT73GUGF3 GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

$88 and has a $20 MIR. It's 256MB, but it is GDDR3, not GDDR2.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.