Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 08:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default Need Help

I cant find my topic which I posted last April so I guess Im gonna post a new one and its about my setup.

Here is my planned setup:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo-4 Nforce4
Kingston 1x 1GB DDR400
Inno3D GeForce 7900GTX
160GB Seagate Barracuda S-ATA
500W PSU
casing

Will this setup do me well without OCing? I fear of OCing my rig and ask you guys if it will perform well without OCing. I can't find Opteron or X2 here yet and that's the only available processor I've searched here so far.

And next is I havn't indicated a casing yet. Am I required to buy a cooling system or just an ordinary ATX casing which will not cost me so much? And will not give me worries regarding heat issues.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 08:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

the 3200 can go really far, 2 guys here I know of have theres at 2.9 just need decent water cooling for those speeds. anywayz, mobo is good, HD is good, which brand PSU? and change the Ram for G.Skill PC 4000 or OCZ pc 4000.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 08:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that setup will run fine without overclocking. the heatsink fan that will ship with t5he cpu (unless you bought it OEM) will be more than adequate for cooling it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 09:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Looks good, If he isn't going to over clock pc3200 will be all he will need.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

well he could OC, and he will have to eventually.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: Need Help

Quote:
Originally posted by 0tz


Will this setup do me well without OCing? I fear of OCing my rig and ask you guys if it will perform well without OCing.
Edit - Well that doesn't make sence now that you edited the post, lol
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

may i recommend a 2x512mb ram config or 2x1gb instead of 1x1GB, it performs better
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

What's the difference in performance between 2x512MB RAM and 1x1GB RAM? Both has total of 1GB..Does it something to do with dual-channel?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes, it is more efficient to have 1gb as 2x512mb because of dual channel.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.