Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

I'm building a computer within the next few months, and I need a good motherboard.

My requirements are:

1. I obviously want a quality motherboard that will be with me for years to come.

2. Gaming is a big thing for me. Must be a good one!

3. I like to have the option to overclock. I've been thinking ASUS would be a good brand.

4. Intel LGA 775, PCI Express x16 Video Card Port.

5. SLI: Cool if it's there, don't care if it isn't. I don't plan to use two video cards, but I guess it would be cool to have that option.

6. Here's a big one. I need it to support like 5-6 hard drives. What I have in mind is a faster primary hard drive for my OS and games, and a 5-disk RAID5 setup for my... 'stuff'...

7. I'd like it to support the faster FSB for Intel. 1333 I think it was?

8. Preferably something I can buy from Newegg.

Just would like some tips from the pros. I kind of know what to look for, kind of not.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Just get a P35-Ds3r board.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Inexpensive, has 8 SATA ports, supports RAID 5, no SLI but no big deal, supports a native 1333MHz FSB, futureproof for upcoming 45nm processors, great gaming performance, and even greater overclockability.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Inexpensive, has 8 SATA ports, supports RAID 5, no SLI but no big deal, supports a native 1333MHz FSB, futureproof for upcoming 45nm processors, great gaming performance, and even greater overclockability.
agreed on the p35-ds3r
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

In all honesty, I've never heard of GIGABYTE. I was really thinking ASUS. But three recommendations on the same board makes me wonder... Is GIGABYTE a good brand? Game-wise too?

What does peterhuang913 mean by PCI raid controllers? Does it not support RAID on it's own?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Gigabyte is a great brand. It's always recommended here. Especially that P35-DS3R. It's one of the best overclocking boards, for not much money, and from reviews....has very good gaming performance.

The board does support RAID on it's own. Just that some boards don't support the likes of RAID 5 or 0+1. But the one I suggested, supports those.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Gigabyte is a CRAZY GOOD brand. NVM on the raid cards.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

I'd watch out for Abit now. Those where the **** back when I started OCing. I heard there mobos are lacking now a days.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

Just wondering, what does RAID ports actually do?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need gaming MOBO with lots of HDD ports.

They help in setting up RAID, if the motherboard doesn't support it.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it my Mobo or my CPU? Sydzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-13-2007 04:46 AM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
rebuilding gaming pc (plz help) zarga New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-30-2007 11:12 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.