need to find similar MOBO asap help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2007, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default need to find similar MOBO asap help please

i had my crippled aopen mobo for a year now because i cant send it out for warranty since it takes so much time for theyr azz to repair it i need to find a similar mobo that is cheap and would work with rest of my cmponents

Product MPN
MPN i915pa-e


Key Features
Form Factor ATX
Compatibility PC
Chipset Intel 915P
Compatible Processors Intel Pentium 4
Front Side Bus Speed 800 MHz


Technical Features
Integrated Input/Output Ports Floppy Port x 1, PS/2 Keyboard x 1, PS/2 Mouse x 1, Parallel Port (ECP/EPP/SPP) x 1, RJ45 Lan Port x 1, Serial Port x 2, USB 2.0 x 4
Expansion Slots PCI Express x1 x 2, PCI Express x16 x 1, PCI x 3
Storage Controller Type(s) DMA/ATA-100 (Ultra) x 1, Serial ATA x 4
South Bridge Chip Intel ICH6


Processor
Socket Type Socket LGA775
Max supported CPUs qty 1


Memory
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Number of Memory Slots 4 x DIMMs
Supported RAM speeds 400 MHz
Max Supported RAM 4 GB


Audio / Video
Audio Output 7.1 Channels, Line Out
Audio Input 1 x Line In, Microphone Jack
Video Interface PCI Express x16


Communication
Networking Type Gigabit Ethernet


Other Features
Other Features Chassis intrusion detection, Dual Channel Memory Architecture, Hyper Thread Technology Ready
Chassis Type Desktop
Package Qty 1


Dimensions
Width 30.5 cm
Depth 24.4 cm


Miscellaneous
Bios Features DMI
Power Configurations Suspend to Disk (Hibernate), Suspend to RAM, Wakeup from Keyboard/Mouse
Bios Type 4 Mbit Flash EEPROM with AwardBIOS
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: need to find similar MOBO asap help please

You may have a big problem being a need to perform a lengthy search. One board found with the 915P chipset also sees a $122 price tag at BOXD915PBLLX Server Supply Technology - Warehouse of Servers, Server Components, Peripherals and Datastorage Devices This board runs DDR2 not DDR400 memory.

On the other hand newegg still sees one Jetway board that runs DDR400 memory seen for only $36 at Newegg.com - JetWay PT88BSPRO-EC LGA 775 VIA PT880 PRO ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Unfortunately those are both low end losers at the links there. You may want to or just simply have to go for a newer board that will still run the P4 model you have but requires the 240pin DDR2 memory. Perhaps changing vendors might also help with any returns?
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: need to find similar MOBO asap help please

ye man i kinda faqued up when i built this system it was the DDR tossup, ddr2 was still in early stages of development and was a lil slow in my opinion and lots more expensive so i got the pretty much last of the dynasaur boards before they went byebye and no support for it either
im stuck with a gig of ocz sticks which are not bad at alland the specs were perfect for me

u think i can turn it around and upgrade just the memory and board?
i recently upgraded my psu and about to toss my IDE harddrive.
the worst part i spent like a month researching and getin info on the components so they work good together and sadly my 478 2.4ghz seems faster than this
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: need to find similar MOBO asap help please

i mean i would have to get 800mhz memory right?
im so outdated already its only been a year since i got up to speed.
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: need to find similar MOBO asap help please

if worst comes to worst your gonna have to get the board or upgrade the ram like you said, but imo opinion its not worth spending money on especially a $122 board. but if you really need this computer then i suppose youll have to.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.