need a build check before order - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default need a build check before order

Hey guys. I updated my build a little bit because i dont think i will be over clocking as much as i was thinking originaly. The main reason i dont think i will be is because i truely never done it before and dont know where to start, and i like having warranty from time to time. but my mind could change on the overclocking part... thats why im posting here so i can get some good ideas from you guys

Anyways here goes
MoBo: ASUS A8N32 SLI Deluxe
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 4400+ Toledo
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR400 2gigs
PSU: Antec TruepowerII 550
GPU: Evga Geforce 7900GTX 512mb
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 250gb
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Case: Thermaltake Armor Series

like i stated about im not sure about overclocking it seems like anyone can do it ive just never tried. My Budget is about $2000-$2200 Shipped after rebates ETC.

The items i dont know about are going to be the case (i dont plan on going water cooled any time soon so looking for a good air flow case), The Mother board, Memory, and the CPU.

And also about the Graphics card, Is there a huge difference between the 7900GT and the 7900GTX.. is it worth the extra $200?

If you guys could throw some opinions my way or even (if you are bored and feel like helping a lot) throw me a build with in my budget that would really be helpful!

Thanks again guys!
__________________

Nadas is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

yes if you have the money get the 7900 GTX....big clock diffrence and 512MB of ram vs 256MB. Both cards are excellent.

how much is the total of that? if theres enough room and you dont feel like Overclocking get the 4800+...

the case is up to you just look around and read the reviews..

sweet build
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default

After rebates and some optical drives im at about 2k shipped after rebates. Can the 4400 be OCed on stock cooling to the 4800?
Nadas is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yeah...

save some $ by getting this board

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

great OC'er too

and with the money you saved get the 4800+ and OC that to 2.8 and you flying
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default

are the 64 x2 compatable with that board?
Nadas is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

yep
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i suggest youll get this mobo instead
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127232
(out of all 3 X16 SLI mobos, this one seems to have the most positive user & pro reviews)

and this ram,it have lower timings
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032

im aware seagate hds have 5yr warranty , but performance wise you can get a 250gb with 16mb buffer for just 4$ more,with bit lower warranty 3yrs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

its indid easy to overclock ,youll just need a very good oc ram & a mobo thats good for oc that abit i suggested above is an excellent overclocker it reachd 272fsb 1:1, i recommend this oc ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231057 , also if your gonna overclock better take an amd opteron 165 or 175 instead of the x2 (their also dual core,have bigger L1/L2 cache,and they overclock like a dream)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103584 , the cooling that comes with the opterons is good enough for overclocking but you can still get better cooling if you want to, i recommend xp-90+panaflo 92mm 42cfm fan
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/thxpforforin.html

as for cases,several suggestions
gigabyte aurora
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811233002
nzxt lexa
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146018
thermaltake tsunami
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

as for the performance diffrences between 7900gt to gtx have a look at the benchmarks in this review http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/326/
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Just looking around the forums and new egg noticed that many people have Opty 165 or 170. A lot of people are saying they are geting 2.8ghz on stock cooling etc. how hard is it to Overclock for someone that has never done it before... say i get the 170 and want to get it to 2.5 stable?
Nadas is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

with that abit mobo+those gskill pc4000/ddr500+an "opty" it wil be very easy , basicly youll need to up the fsb & maybe play with ram timings/voltage too and possibly also the processor voltage (in the bios of course) anyway the result goes like this: multipiler X fsb , for example the optereon 165 multipiler is 9 and the stock fsb is 200 so 9X200 = 1800mhz .. , naturally youll need to test stability & maximum temperature under stress , for that youll need to use memtest86+ & prime95 & 3dmark & everest or the mobo manufacturer temp monitoring program , will take quite a bit of time to get it all tested but after it will be stable you wont need to do it again well at least not if youll keep it the way it is and wont overclock it higher
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Since i dont plan on doing SLI.... well at least not any time soon... what would be the best motherboard to get?
__________________

Nadas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.