Need a bit of help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2009, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Question Need a bit of help.

So, I' am planning on building a computer. This would be my 1st one. I've got a good idea of how to actually install the hardware and do it in a safe manner.

My worry is my actual build.

I'll give new egg links so you guys can look at the specs.

Motherboard : Newegg.com - ASUS M4A79 Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

CPU : Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

RAM : Newegg.com - mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

PSU : Newegg.com - APEVIA ATX-AS680W-BL 680W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready Power Supply - Power Supplies

Sound Card : Newegg.com - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional 70SB088600002 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express Interface Sound Card - Sound Cards

Video Card : Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Hard Drive : Newegg.com - Seagate ST3640323AS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Case : Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

So, that's what i had in mind. If someone finds incompatablities/better on this spec please let me know.

Also, i'd be very very happy if someone could explain how to tweak RAM settings/fan speeds. I was reading on the PCI Express 2.0 slots on that mother board. I wonder if it would be possible to fit dual graphics cards and that sound card because the x16 bandwidth would get split.
__________________

Gavathsaer is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

i'd go abit better on the mobo and get one that supports ddr3 like this onewww.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128377 then this ram Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory. but i really need a budget to work to otherwise ill just tell you the best parts for cheap. for amd it would be better to get good timings on the ram. this power would be enough for what you have Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer PPCS420X 420W ATX12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies. other than that your build is good. if your overclocking you will need a cpu cooler. just your cpu at stock is ok but o/c it can beat a stock i7 920.
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

Thanks. lol I' am noob here. I'll be able to spend 1000 dollars.

I don't really care what parts, just as long as running today's games on full settings with 40+ FPS.
Gavathsaer is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

ok well for a 1000 dollars you can afford an i7 setup. so you learn abit more build a new computer on newegg and ill tell you what to change.

start with
cpu: i7 920
mobo: an x58 chipset like the gigabyte ud3lr
ram: ocz sticks that i said before
psu: same as above
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

this mobo Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards, that one that you have is an old 775 socket you need the 1366 socket for an i7
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 08:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

ah! ok :] thanks for your help mate.
Gavathsaer is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

thats cool man, here on tf we love to help.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

If he's going with a phenom II build that motherboard is fine. The small increase in performance for ddr3 ram would not be worth it. that motherboard you had was fine. a 1000 dollar budget for i7 rig is pushing it, and it may force you to skimp on some things. Have someone come up with one, but you may be better off going with the one u posted.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
If he's going with a phenom II build that motherboard is fine. The small increase in performance for ddr3 ram would not be worth it. that motherboard you had was fine. a 1000 dollar budget for i7 rig is pushing it, and it may force you to skimp on some things. Have someone come up with one, but you may be better off going with the one u posted.
I fully agree.
Gilles is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 10:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Need a bit of help.

For your budget it's not possible to make a nice i7 build without skimping on some things. I'd just go with a x4 940 build and some ddr2, since at the moment ddr3 offers little to no performance gain for the amd cpu's.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - MSI R4870-T2D1G Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

That'll do you good, If you really want to spend the extra for am3 and ddr3 go with these ram and cpu instead, although it really isn't worth it

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory - note the 1333mhz is to keep timings tighter.
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TA790GX A3+ AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
trying to update my 32 bit version to 64 bit saucy2040 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-23-2009 03:48 PM
Vista 32 bit vs 64 bit Mandingo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-22-2008 11:41 PM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.