need advice with parts for pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default need advice with parts for pc

Hey all i'm new and trying to seek some good advice hey if i get good advice i may just stick around here I've been browsing around quite a bit and it looks nice... anyways i want to finally build myself a nice gaming rig i'm not holding back too much im thinking about getting a geforce 8800 lol... well i'll show you my wish list on new egg currently... i'm facing a debate though should i stick with the intel or go for the AMD coz it's going to mainly a gaming rig *droolz* over crysis lol but gonna be doing regular multi-tasking stuff as well.

here's the linkage

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...sible+computer

please any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

oktob3r is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

Nice Dude. I however would go with some Kingston DDR2 800 RAM. I don't know about that DDR2 675... Love the video card lol, nice CPU, PSU got some good reviews but I don't know about that manufacturer. Just remember to pay extra and get a reliable one, If you trust them then go for it. I like ATX full tower cases, they let you have a lot more room for upgrades and air flow.

Nice job!
__________________

__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

thnx what do you think about taking the amd route... i'm really thinking about it coz i can save a little money and put it into some better ram lol
oktob3r is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

amd is not bad but then again ive been intel all along the conroe is a great cpu and u wont be disappointed with it..specially with the 2.4 i got the 1.86 with 3gigs of ram and my system flys...so with the 4mb cache on the 2.4 it'll be nice, personally i'd stick with the conroe chip
__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=77323
Section Four
Quote:
The brands I stay away from and would never recommend. Ever.
~Thermaltake (The Higher Models Only, See Low Priced Power Supplies)
~Ultra (X-Connects Especially)
~Coolmax
~Cooler Master
~ASUS
~Sunbeam
~Sparkle
~RaidMax
~AeroCool
~AMS
~Apevia (Aspire)
~Apevia (Aspire)
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 05:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^lol^^
yeah but i have a coolmax 500watt and lemme tell ya it works just fine now.
it's on the nvidia website as a certified psu, so i wasn't too worried about it running my rig.
there are good and bad for everything.
okay october:
that 6600 will kick the crap out of any amd made if you overclock it just a wee bit.
amd make good chips, dont get me wrong...i love mine and am totally an amd fanboy.
the intel chips are just faster (sic. better, it hurts) now.
as far as saving money and buying better ram:
cpu is more important than ram.
but, if you are set on buying amd, lemme know and i can help you pick the parts.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 06:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - 316.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 - 149.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012
G.SKILL (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 - 223.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231087
eVGA GeForce 8800GTS - 400.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130071
Antec True Power Trio 550W - 100.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200/16MB - 80.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148144
SAMSUNG Black 18X DVD+RW - 32.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151136
APEVIA X-Plorer Black/Blue - 60.00
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811144104

Microsoft Comfort Curve - 22.00
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16823109156
Logitech X-530 - 61.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121118
SCEPTRE X20WG-Naga Black 20.1 - 240.00 (MIR)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824112006

1683.00 without shipping

Still a great machine that will last a few years.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

I believe oktob3r's wishlist has changed since he's started the topic... ok right now I have the following suggestions:

- Downgrade the motherboard from 680i chipset to something like a P5B-E. Will save you $100 for equal performance.
- For a power supply this Hiper 580W should be great.
- I feel this Logitech X-230 would be a better speaker set.

Of course this change of setup would mean you wouldn't be able to run SLi, but then again, if you're getting an 8800GTX I advise you not to.
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.