Need advice: Extra RAM needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2008, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Need advice: Extra RAM needed?

Hi Guys

I have an E8200 2.6 runnin @ 3.2GHz, a 4870 Ati vid card, 2GB RAM runnin at 800Mhz, CL4-4-4-12, all under XP pro 32bit version

Now would I see much performance gain in getting another 2x1GB sticks of RAM to take the total to 4GB? I know i only have 32bit OS blah blah blah

Oh and it is a gaming machine, running all the latest and greatest games money can buy :happy:
__________________

__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Need advice: Extra RAM needed?

Probably not. As your only actually getting ~1.2GBs extra.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Need advice: Extra RAM needed?

yea i would get a 64bit os before getting another 2gb, when i got my 4gb on my old 32 bit xp it only showed 2.25
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need advice: Extra RAM needed?

miine showed 2.75
you could add 1gb, but i'd upgrade OS first.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Need advice: Extra RAM needed?

Thanks for your reply's guys. Ill hold off till I get a 64bit then
__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
!Reformatting Advice Needed! DMcLaughlin Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-03-2008 10:23 PM
Help! Help! Please In The Name Of Jesus! KCRMYZ Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 11-26-2007 07:10 PM
Hijackthis Log Part 1 chublake HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 11-02-2007 08:14 AM
Advice needed on deploying Outlook 2000. Fac51 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-17-2007 10:02 AM
New build advice needed sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-12-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.