Need Advice on Buying HP Desktop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 01:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

He plays Runescape alot of the time.

He even had me hooked on that game for awhile. It is quite fun.
__________________

GypsyGrandma is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 04:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

lol runescape......
Well if he plans to get a computer on a budget i would suggest a DELL
but for $900+ go for alienware computers...

Hl2 is awesome and it doesnt require a lot of high tech stuff like Bf2..
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 04:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

They have already ordered it.

One thing good about HP is their cases are quite stylish. They're a better company than Dell too. I'd never buy a Dell. HP make the best budget systems IMO.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I wouldn't even consider a Dell !

About a year ago I ordered a Dell Inspiration 6000 laptop.
What a joke !!
I ended up letting my 3 year old grandson use it to watch his Barney Videos LOL.

Although it is my own fault ~ I didn't research the laptops.
I just thought it had to be a good laptop because it was a Dell.

This time I used Consumer Reports Rating and they rate this HP Desktop as very good.

I ordered it last night and after the $150 rebate it cost $1,569.
It should be here late next week.

Gypsy
GypsyGrandma is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I should tell you the reason I prefer to go with HP.

My grandson has the HP Pavilion Notebook DV5000
Series.
He has some minor issues with it & I have to tell you, HP has been wonderful about it all.
They have gone over and above as far as customer service.

The issues he had with it were NOT HP's fault (it was because my other grandson knocked it over & messed it up).

Then we had a problem with the plug not staying in.
I did send it in to HP to have the cord issue fixed and they returned it within a matter of days, completely fixed & even put a new battery in it.

I am VERY impressed with HP service.

Gypsy
GypsyGrandma is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i am so impressed that you realise Dell is crap that has really made my day. we have enough trouble convincing self proclaimed "tech savvy" people that Dell is pathetic and you already get it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 12:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i am so impressed that you realise Dell is crap that has really made my day. we have enough trouble convincing self proclaimed "tech savvy" people that Dell is pathetic and you already get it.

LMAO
It is sad though when you end up letting a 3 year old have a laptop to watch his Barney & Wiggles videos.
But that is about all the Dell Inspiration 6000 is good for IMO.

Gypsy
GypsyGrandma is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default How to hook up 2 Monitors

I would like to connect two monitors to this system.
What will I need to do this?
Gypsy
GypsyGrandma is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

two monitors

The computer SHOULD come with a DVI convertor... if not, you can get a VGA to DVI convertor from a local store... dual monitors is so useful.. i could never go back to one..


one a second note, i think this is the coolest "Granny" on the forum!!
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Getting an HP, I would recommend getting an AMD based system if your grandson's into gaming than multitasking- most athlon 64's are cheaper than that 4mb pentium D.
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.