Narrowed it down to 3 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2006, 08:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well ask the shop if they can put a "sata 3.0gb/s"hard drive. Now that 80 is ide isnt it? that is old and slower then the sata 3.0gb/s, also known as sata2 if you want to call it that. But I would definately look into something bigger. hard drives are so cheap, if you can buy the hard drive yourself and install it. Lets see newegg has sata2 drives with 250gigs of space a a 16mb cache (yours has 8) for ~$86 shipped.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 08:52 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default

that Hard drive is S-ATA II
__________________

UT-44 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 08:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

S-ATA II is aka SATA 3.0 so its fine
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Please, Sora, UT-44, and h0mer; get avatars. Its hard to tell your posts apart, lol.

UT-44; This isn't the late 1990s anymore. You don't burn computer parts easily nowadays. In overclocking, you would actually have to try and very hard to burn/destroy something during normal overclocking.

Keep in mind that by not overclocking (for no good reason, I might add), you're doing something that is akin to buying a processor that runs at 3.2Ghz or above, and choosing to slow it down to 2.13Ghz. A lot of wasted power there, no?
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default

whats akin meen lol
UT-44 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

"Is akin to" = "Is like..."
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:21 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default

if they can run alot faster and be totaly stable why dont they come like that already?
UT-44 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:24 PM   #28 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Becuase for them to be stable at those frequencies you have to have excellent cooling, both in your case with fans and an aftermarket fan on the CPU. They are downclocked to where even a person with crappy cooling in case and the stock fan will not overheat as long as not OC'd.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Good Question. Its because it takes slightly better cooling and higher voltages than what Intel was willing to advertise.

Also, a lot of Core 2 Duos can run at those higher speeds. But Intel had to have a low-end branch, so they downclocked them.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:30 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default

thats why im not going to overclock im not getting loads of fans and stuff
just E6600
RADEON X1950XT
2gig ram
and rest of the stuff listed in topic
__________________

UT-44 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.