my upgrades - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

btx is just a different layout also on dells the mobo is attached to the case by this sliding panel, its weid, i tryed to rebuild my friends dell by replacing the case and it wouldnt work.
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Ah.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

It wouldn't matter if dell used btx, he wouldn't be using the case, powersupply, or anything else along those lines.
But you can keep the ram, don't see why you wouldn't unless it's a different speed than what you want to upgrade to.
Also, I would get the case/psu combo if you're really into the case; Antec uses their good powersupplies even in their case/psu deals, so it would be a quality powersupply.
Be sure that the hard drive will work (being sata, ultra ide, etc.)
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PcMe
It wouldn't matter if dell used btx, he wouldn't be using the case, powersupply, or anything else along those lines.
But you can keep the ram, don't see why you wouldn't unless it's a different speed than what you want to upgrade to.
Also, I would get the case/psu combo if you're really into the case; Antec uses their good powersupplies even in their case/psu deals, so it would be a quality powersupply.
Be sure that the hard drive will work (being sata, ultra ide, etc.)
thanks, sounds like you understand what im trying to say, how do i know if it will all work with my hdd?

i do like that case, but for the same price i geuss i could get the other psu and a 40£ case, so it all depends on what case i like the most.
harry18 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, so i took a look at the hdd and it says ATA/IDE....i think, what does this mean for my psu.

oh yea, and what do you guys think of the cases i posted earlier
harry18 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

All IDE drives will work on PSUs made in the last 5 years. All the require is a 4 pin power connector which most PSUs have in abundance
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, thanks.

alright people ive been thinking about it and this IS the case and psu combo i want:
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=90604

unless you have a reason why not?

along with this mobo
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=60080

and some memory 1gb...not sure what, probly just some value corsair stuff, or something.
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.