My Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2008, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default My Upgrade

I am now going to go SLI with my system and get a new mobo, since it is the last upgrade i am ever going to make for 3 years, so i have a question:

Would my PSU support 2 GTSs and an overclocked Yorkfield?

Its 700 Watts, but tbh i dont really know...
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: My Upgrade

Looks like its plenty powerful
__________________

Doer. is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: My Upgrade

Thanks...

I really dont want to blow up another power supply...that would be...the third....

I've already got through two...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: My Upgrade

what were your other two psu?
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: My Upgrade

Yes...what were your other two. I have never heard of Arctic Power either
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: My Upgrade

you can also use this as a guide

http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/up...-guide-137927/
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 02:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: My Upgrade

how many rails do you have. 2 or 3. Hopefully two which would make 24 amped rails.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: My Upgrade

my old ones were cheapy winpower 450W and 500W ones

my 450 blew up back when i had a 6600 and my 500 blew up when i bought my GTS and tried to play quake on it...

I also have 2 voltage rails...combined 48A
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: My Upgrade

Since you have two voltage rails, you should be ok. Although, I'm not to sure about that particular brand's reliability.
Doer. is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: My Upgrade

how many rails doesn't matter.....its how many amps....
more rails doesnt = more power
look at the 750 quad silencer
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.