My system and a few dx10 questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default My system and a few dx10 questions...

I just ordered a new system, should have it in a few days.

AMD X2 4800

OCZ El Platinum 2gig

74gig WD Raptor

A8R32-MVP

X1900XTX

x-fi xtrememusic

Seasonic S12 600W

I am just wondering about when DX10 comes out. If I want DX10 support, will I only have to upgrade the Video Card with a DX10 one? Is this socket 939 mobo and processor compatible with windows vista and DX10?

Thanks.
__________________

TankMasterFlex is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yes it will be compatible with vista don't worry.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Its going to be backwards compatible and Vista wont be DX10 until 2007. The original release will be DX9d.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks

so its only the vid card that will have to change to get dx10 support? It sounds like it will only be worth the upgrade in a while from now, I think ill wait till 2nd gen. dx10 cards come out, then sit on that for a few years...
TankMasterFlex is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

You sir are smart. Sounds like a plan. Every first gen card sucks so just jumping to G80 isnt smart but isnt bad. (r600 for ATI) I myself am waiting for the second gen DX10 cards and thats why i got a 7800GS.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I really only have time for pc games in summer (school sept - april) so i might pick up a dx 10 then...if the performance gain is there...

thanks for all your help.
TankMasterFlex is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Vista only NEEDS a DX9.0d card to run it, but you will need a DX10-compatible card to be able to play DX10 games.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 08:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

But it will still be backwards compatible. The DX10 game will be emulated (simply put) on the DX9 card.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 01:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I see. But in the future, when dx10 games will run smoother and nicer on dx10 vid cards, will I be able to simply upgrade to a dx10 video card and play in true dx10? or does mobo/ram/cpu....matter also for dx10?
TankMasterFlex is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Just the video card matters. W/ slower mobo/cpu/ram bottlenecking MIGHT occur but unlikely. To not play unemulated DX10 you need a DX10 card.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.