My rig feels a little underpowered... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2007, 09:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

may frames were about the same i think maybe 70 and 40 in cities
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 12:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

The one thing that bugged me was, I would be walking in a city at 60fps (which is what it's maxed at, at least in the debug menu) and I turn the corner and it drops to 27-30fps (used to be 18-22fps with the messed up INI), while isn't too bad considering it's an RPG it still bugs me. The thing is, I don't think it the gpu that is at fault, as I reduced resolution, turned down shadows, and turned off HDR and I was still getting the exact performance looking down the road.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

i only have a gts and i get 60 most of the time...only when i walk outside..and say jump down a cliff so all the grass and trees come up at once..does it boggle...yours seems to be a driver problem..or issue with the game...the majority of the time i average like 60 except for the sudden distant views
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 04:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Upgrade to forceware 162.22
ForceWare Release 162
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 07:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Upgrade to forceware 162.22
ForceWare Release 162
It says it's for Vista, will it work in XP?

Well this is what I'm running, I get 10194 marks in 3dMark06.

Settings (in the launcher menu): Ultra High
Resolution: 1600x1200
AA/AF: 0/16
Sliders: Max
Shadows: Grass shadows, canopy shadows, no self shadows (looks too buggy)
HDR: on
Water: High

I use Qarl's Texture Pack
Waphlez is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 01:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Yeah with the new drivers i get 10000+ in 3d mark btw beefcake what are your system specs? for some reason i cant see it in your sig? just curious
Raknor is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 03:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raknor View Post
Ok guys i need your help, atm my system is feeling weaker than it did a month ago. In oblivion with all settings maxed im getting 30fps or lower at 1680 x 1050, im currently using forceware 158.45 beta, but i'm planning on updating to the latest soon. Ive expirenced low fps in Lord of the Rings online and in Vanguard saga of heros, so much so that i dropped both games...is this vista? with my setup the only things i can think to do would be to replace my crappy ram with HZ's and get vista 64 both of which im doing later this month. Any ideas what is wrong?
plain and simple...stop looking at porn my good man
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 06:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

^^^ LMAO to that!!
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 07:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Quote:
It says it's for Vista, will it work in XP?
No you can't

This is for XP
ForceWare Release 162
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 08:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: My rig feels a little underpowered...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefcake View Post
I run Oblivion on max on 1600x1200 with HDR and 16x AF and no AA (don't really need it on 1600x1200) and depending on the city I usually get around 28-35 fps in the demanding areas. Some cities, when I look down a long road with lots of buildings, I get as low as 18 fps. I turned the resolution down and got the same exact fps so I not quit sure what to think. However that doesn't mean the whole game runs slow, most of the time I'm maxed out at 60fps and usually stay above 40fps most of the time. Certain parts of cities are the most demanding.

Although I also have my ini file tweaked to load more cells, and some memory based tweaks, so if your running on the default ini you may be getting different performance.
Technically you can't use AA & HDR at once in oblivion.
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.