My ram setup for best compatability and performance - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 11:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

there is plenty of good ram out there. Yes the HZ's are nice but you can find numerous ram manufacturers that use the same IC's. Don't be lazy do some research yourself
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

My computer came with the capability to run SLI. I have 2 slots for graphics cards on my motherboard.

According to CPU-Z I have:

nForce4 SLI Intel Edition (chipset)
nForce 590 SLI (southbridge)
Intel Pentium D 950 3.40 GHz

and I am about to upgrade my ram to 2x2gb sticks of either the Gskill or Corsair 800 ram.

Would any of this prevent me from running SLI and/or would bottleneck the performance of my 2 9600 GT's
__________________

blayez is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

Pentium D's suck unfortunately, so they'll bottleneck your 9600gt's SLI

and I'm pretty sure thats your board:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 12:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

Yes it is the Socket 775 LGA, but I don't see the nForce 590 SLI listed there.

I have very little knowledge of CPU's, but how much of a bottleneck are we talking about? If it will be extremely bad, I would be interested in possibly upgrading to a newer CPU. I have no idea what type I should look into that would be compatable with my setup nor the typical price range.
blayez is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 12:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

Extremely bad!!

Get a Core 2 Duo e7200 to fix it or a cheap E2200
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 07:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

how about 2 Galaxy 9600GT they are cheaper
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

can ya give me a link for the galaxy?
blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: My ram setup for best compatability and performance

these are cheaper

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR V9603GT52 GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - ZOTAC ZT-96TES2P-FSP GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

too bad most of the cards MIR got removed
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.