is my ram decent? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2009, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default is my ram decent?

i just wanna know if my ram is decent i got this ram with the computer i bought.
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: is my ram decent?

No...that's really slow DDR2.

Pick up a nice 4gb kit of DDR2 800.

EDIT: Lemme rephrase that. It could be worse, but it's not RAM you'd want to stick with.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: is my ram decent?

Yeh you can pick up a good 4gb set with 4-4-4-12 timings for really cheap these days.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: is my ram decent?

You could do better... but it's not decent ram.
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 08:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: is my ram decent?

man at that speed you would expect better timings, or so i'd think. Some really average RAM. Would be ok for an old rig i guess. But as Hiki said ddr2 is so cheap these days, just go ahead and pickup a cheap set of ddr800 at decent timings.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: is my ram decent?

Aaagh my poor eyes! :P

And I concur with the previous statements.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: is my ram decent?

by me getting better ram what would it improve?
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: is my ram decent?

Just the general overall speed, really.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: is my ram decent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Just the general overall speed, really.
like what?
booting up time?
having more apps running at the same time?
cuz im not having any problems with this ram
but since u guys saying its not decent i wanna
know what will it improve exactly by upgrading.
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: is my ram decent?

It won't be much faster, maybe 4-5% at most? Boot-up time would be no faster but stuff like games, apps and OS might be.
If you're not having any problems with speed, then I don't think it would be worth the money, but it's your money so it's up to you
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide: Ram Timings For Dummies H4x3r New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-01-2009 07:45 PM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Utilize full power of ram lockheart System Upgrades 1 12-18-2008 02:40 AM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 03:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.