My PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Exclamation My PSU

i have a micro star 6533 mother board

it had a 250w PSU and i have just bought a 400w PCU

this wont effect my mobo will it? as i needed to upgrade my PSU for my graphics card to work as it needed 400w
__________________

TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My PCU

Nope a 400w PSU will be just fine.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: My PCU

You meant PSU. There should be no problem, as long as it can fit in your case.
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: My PCU

yeah psu my bad geting used to useing a keyboard again as i jsut got rid of my laptop :]

and yeah fits in fine just short on power leads as i cant plug in my cd-rom but have a dvd-rom on

is there a way so i can extent or add adaptors to the power leads so i can fit more fans ect?
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: My PCU

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcboy09 View Post
yeah psu my bad geting used to useing a keyboard again as i jsut got rid of my laptop :]

and yeah fits in fine just short on power leads as i cant plug in my cd-rom but have a dvd-rom on

is there a way so i can extent or add adaptors to the power leads so i can fit more fans ect?
Check these out:
Newegg.com - Power Splitter, Power Cables, Cables
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: My PCU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xandubomb View Post
thanks for that! think i might order some would any of them work?
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My PSU

yep all kinds here.

Newegg.com - Power Cables, Cables, Computer Accessories, Computer Hardware

darn beat to the punch
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: My PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcboy09
thanks for that! think i might order some would any of them work?
Yes, most of them. Just make sure it's the 4-pin molexes that are flat, and not the 4-pins that look like a square.

Or you can just show the ones you will get to make sure.
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: My PSU

just 1 more thing....since that stuff is in the us(i think) will all of there stuff they sell work in the uk's computers?
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: My PSU

Yes. But you're better off getting them from the UK. I'm sure they sell them there. So you don't have to pay unnecessary international shipping charges.

Overclockers UK Search Results - Power Splitters
__________________

Xandubomb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCU Temp. & Heatsink Guide Spend Overclocking and Modding 1 06-04-2008 12:29 AM
store to buy a PSU Tee.h New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-28-2008 11:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.