My Proposed Upgrade. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default My Proposed Upgrade.

Ok, I have a cpu, case and peripherals already. This is what I'm hoping to upgrade to, from whats in my sig.

Mobo: Abit IP35-E
Newegg.com - ABIT IP35-E LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

GPU: EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

RAM: OCZ Platinum DDR2 800 4x1GB
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 4GB(4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 400GB 7200.10RPM (x2)
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3400620AS 400GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

CPU Cooler: Tuniq Tower 120
Newegg.com - Tuniq Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler - Retail

PSU: Corsair 450vx or should I bump up to the 550vx, I do plan on upgrading cpu to quad core later.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX ATX12V V2.2 450W Power Supply 90 - 264 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

How does all that look?

I am gonna get Ultimate 64 bit so don't say only use 2 gigs of ram.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

Looks nice, and your thinking good with that 4GB of RAM because Vista is a RAM hog !
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

I would go with the 550W, but otherwise it looks good. You really only need 4GB if your working with graphics/video editing, but you probably already know that.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

I wouldnt worry so much on PSU- what I've read its the amperage on the 12v rails you need to up- most high end vids need a 35amp rail and if you cant support that the system will fail- there are some nice psu with 35-50 amp rails to look up (even in newegg) although some companies dont list that feature (uggh)

as for the vid card- 10ish dollars more (after rebate) if its in your range- XFX GeForce 8800 GTS Video Card - Fatal1ty Edition, FREE Lost Planet: Extreme Condition PC Game, 320MB DDR3, PCI Express, SLI Ready, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV, Video Card PVT80GG1D4 at TigerDirect.com Ive heard such good things about this- it competes with the 8800 Ultra and is a tad bit faster then what you have listed- however- its up to you in the end.

vista can be a RAM hog yea.. but you can also tweak it .. so its not... most mild tweaks are about a 28% resource gain for turning off things like the printer port you may or may not use (or setting it to only use when you tell it to) and killing a few shadows and stuff like that- maybe not what you want but gamers enjoy it. Iam a weird gamer- I like my OS looking pretty (Xp bubbles and Vista blinds view and stuff) but I also like lots of performance... so tweakings my only option.

Also a little 4gb readyboost jump drive can help with your cache and be used for your "looks" in vista to free up some actual RAM for games and programs. (its not quite like RAM but its pretty close- and generally faster then normal cache space, unless you have a super fast RPM hdd)

and to the naysayers out there- Ive tested with a 1 and 4 gb readyboost flash drive- and there is a significant amount of change - just not "during gameplay" its not real RAM afterall. You will also notice less and less change with more real RAM- unless you set your computer to read your readyboost drive for the operations you want (google for tweak helps) so that the readyboost is used and not just other RAM.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by midn1gh7 View Post
Ok, I have a cpu, case and peripherals already. This is what I'm hoping to upgrade to, from whats in my sig.

Mobo: Abit IP35-E
Newegg.com - ABIT IP35-E LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

GPU: EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

RAM: OCZ Platinum DDR2 800 4x1GB
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 4GB(4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 400GB 7200.10RPM (x2)
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3400620AS 400GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

CPU Cooler: Tuniq Tower 120
Newegg.com - Tuniq Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler - Retail

PSU: Corsair 450vx or should I bump up to the 550vx, I do plan on upgrading cpu to quad core later.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX ATX12V V2.2 450W Power Supply 90 - 264 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

How does all that look?

I am gonna get Ultimate 64 bit so don't say only use 2 gigs of ram.
looks great... maybe u should get 2 Crucial Ballistix's Kit since its the same thing... but a killer overclocker...

as for the Fatal1ty on par with an Ultra seems like BS to me because Ultra has more pipelines... I'd like to see this article....

but if its true.. you can always overclock it to Fatal1ty speeds... also its usually recommended you take off the heatsink and reapply the thermal paste before people start Complaining about the temperatures.. (also the normal temperature (on load) is about high 70's to low 80's so don't be horribly shocked
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

that ballistix?
and omg its so cheap. i wish i had the money to buy that right now.. lol.

um CHYEAH!!!!!!!!!!
dude, that fatality gts is the balls!
so good. definitly feeling that card for like 10 bucks more haha.
wow.... dude, mega props. and its xfx so it has a lifetime warrenty....AND YOU CAN OC IT MORE!!!!!! OMG ORGASM!!!
wow. i love you kisskerven
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

*sigh*

Guess go with what you want- your choices afterall.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

dude... why does that card come with a "Do Not Disturb" Sign
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
dude... why does that card come with a "Do Not Disturb" Sign
Anyone and their dog could make a 8800 GTS, but a 8800 GTS *with* a Do Not Disturb Sign? Now that is true greatness. I don't think I'll ever buy a computer component again without a Do Not Disturb sign.

I think your question should be: "Why don't *other* cards come with a Do Not Disturb sign?"
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My Proposed Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
Anyone and their dog could make a 8800 GTS, but a 8800 GTS *with* a Do Not Disturb Sign? Now that is true greatness. I don't think I'll ever buy a computer component again without a Do Not Disturb sign.

I think your question should be: "Why don't *other* cards come with a Do Not Disturb sign?"
i think its sorta silly.. but from that link and watching that TigerTV Video... i'm sorta interested...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
CPU upgrade advice bmass New Systems | Building and Buying 24 07-02-2007 12:47 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.