My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 01:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

yeah i think i got a bad e6400 or something. temps aren't too great on mine, at 350fsb and 1.35 volt it hovers around 48c idle. i don't know why? i have a scythe infinity on it, and i've remounted it multiple times. it might be the way it sits on the board though. i was going to lap it but i might just hold out till the e6750 comes out and get that and a ds3r and sell my old combo.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 01:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theyoyokid303 View Post
EVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Leadtek PX8500 GT 256MB Extreme GeForce 8500GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2P8002GK - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADO3600DDBOX - Retail

have psu monitor keyboard mouse case cd drive floppy ...
That Brisbane chip, with that motherboard, should be able to reach 3GHZ+. You'll need a 315 HTT bus speed, so you might need to use a RAM divider, even with high-end RAM.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

apoko, care to explain wat dividers r since i do not really no too much about amd o/c always had intel.

from my understanding they are divided by ur htt (which is an amd fsb right?) to give u ur ram clock speed in mhz? is that right
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
apoko, care to explain wat dividers r since i do not really no too much about amd o/c always had intel.

from my understanding they are divided by ur htt (which is an amd fsb right?) to give u ur ram clock speed in mhz? is that right
ya its the amd fsb.......... thats all i really know about it :0
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

ahh now its all clear to me........who am i kidding apokalipse come back!
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 04:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

Correct me if I'm wrong, but dividers are the speed of you ram to fsb ratio, for instance if your RAM can't keep up with your fsb, so you have to lower it to DDR2 667 or something, so right then you have a different fsb:ram ratio, such as 4:5 rather than the usual 1:1
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 04:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

yeah basically. but usually your ram will surpass your divider if its at 1:1, but then you just tighten the timings to make up for it. it really just depends on what your trying to do and if your overclocking or not.

and to baron5 yeah the htt is equivalent to fsb to a intel machine. the only difference is the multiplier's on amd chips are higher so to push the htt is a little harder.

p.s. you have a nice little rig there rx7i2
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 09:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

well thanks guys for all the help.. hopefully get to build this rig buy school time... got a summer job 100 a week if i work until sept ill have over enough! thanks again for all the help, Later, Tyyk303
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
apoko, care to explain wat dividers r since i do not really no too much about amd o/c always had intel.

from my understanding they are divided by ur htt (which is an amd fsb right?) to give u ur ram clock speed in mhz? is that right
the difference between the FSB and the HTT is this:

Intel chips have to use a memory controller on the motherboard in order to communicate with RAM.
the FSB (Front Side Bus) is the speed between the CPU, and the memory controller.

However AMD's K8 chips have the memory controller on the CPU itself, so they don't need a FSB.
Instead, they can communicate directly with the RAM. (which is faster)

the HTT (HyperTransport) bus is the communication speed between the CPU and the memory.

Now, as for memory dividers:
Your RAM will run at a speed proportionaly to the FSB or HTT
the HTT bus at stock runs at 200MHZ (x5)
If you have DDR400 RAM, it will run at 200MHZ also

If you increase the HTT to 250, the RAM will also run at 250 (or DDR500)

A RAM divider just basically makes the RAM run slower, compared to the HTT bus

If you have a 5:3 ratio, it means that your RAM is running 5/3 of the HTT speed
which means if the HTT bus is at 200MHZ, your RAM will run at DDR333MHZ
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:19 AM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My planned build... am2 helpful hints welcome

^^that is an excellent explanation, apokalipse^^
one of the main differences also is that the ram speed is derived from the external clock speed "divided" by the ram speed, depending on what you have it (ram speed) set to in your bios.
confusing? kinda
say your clock speed is 2500mhz. you have your ram set to ddr2 800.
your ram would run at 2500/5(the "divider" for ddr2-800)...ie 500mhz.
this is different (as far as i know) from the intel divider system, based on fsb(not overall clock speed)/ram speed. i could be wrong there, as intel is as confusing to me as amd is to you.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM
need monster build JRatcliffe New Systems | Building and Buying 60 06-12-2007 06:38 AM
Intel or Amd for new gaming build? Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-26-2007 09:42 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.