my new upgrades ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2005, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Thumbs up my new upgrades !

hello i realized that my computer is in need of some upgrades,i just spent $230 at heres what i got. should be an awesome performance difference

(geil ddr 500mhz memory)

(rosewill powersupply 34 amp 12v rail)

(zalman vf700-cu vga cooler)

burned-ati is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

That's some nice stuff, but I don't really see how you will get an 'awesome performance difference' from it, no offense.

The XP 2500 has an unlocked multi right? Make sure to get the most out of that RAM by lowering the multi if you have to. You should be able to go 250x9 or somewhere around there and have about the same CPU speed but increased bandwidth.

Was your PSU a limiting factor in your OC'ing ability? If so, then maybe yeah, you'll be able to get a higher CPU clock as well.

I guess you'll be pushing the 6600GT further as well, so hey maybe it will be a pretty decent upgrade lol. Congrats


BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati

well i see it as a big upgrade because right now im running 512mb of 350mhz memory which sucks lol when my new parts arrive i will be running 1gb dual channel 500mhz memory well i will run it as fast as my motherboards voltage will let me. and with my video card its stock cooler will be thrown out. and maybe i will be able to run its core to 600mhz with this zalman thing and im having problems with my psu in use now because low amount of amps. so im pretty sure 34 amps is gonna do it with this new powersuplly. and im sure i will get a better overclock with my cpu i can run it at 2.5ghz with 1.89 volts and along with some pc4000 memory i should be pushing some where in the 5.7gb a second memory reading range which in my opinion is alot because i only get 2.4gb a second now lol, and my games should run really smooth with 1 gig
burned-ati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.