My new system Please read - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default My new system Please read

Ok, So ive given up on my system i built 2 years ago the specs are...

Sempron 2800, 2ghz
Abit An7 Guru - Broken
512 DDR Ram
80gig Hardrive - broken

So now... I dont want to buy a motherboard for my sempron because its old and crap and it means i will be out more money later when i want to upgrade.

Im wanting a mobo that will support my ddr 512, but also support better ram like ddr2 and ddr 3, are these different sockets?

Also is the newest socket for gfx Pcie?

My raedon card is the older one, so if i get an upto date mobo will i have to replace my gfx straight away also?
__________________

__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Also... Is it possible to get an amd 64 3000, then upgrade to somthing more powerful without replacing my mobo?
__________________

__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

DDR, DDR2, and DDR3 are all different sockets. DDR3 isn't even a standard for system memory yet.

Newer mobos use PCIE rgaphic slots. While AGP boards are out there, AGP is at the end of its life. It you're gonna upgrade, you might as well bite the bullet now, or you'll have to buy mobo and card later.

Oh, and I removed one of your userbars. DO NOT add it back. Kapish?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

no problem lol, sorry about that
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

so is there no way to get agp and pcie in the same card?
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

No you cannot. Get a pci-e card bro. You are faced with one choice at this point. To stay on top of the curve you will have to get a socket am2 mobo and cpu. You will have to buy new ddr2 ram because the socket is dfferent. Or you can go with the socket 939 like what I have and your current ram will fit, but 512 really isn't all that much ram nowadays, so you would probably end up upgrading it either way. I just bought some stuff to put a new rig together for a friend. It is in another post in this forum.. I think it is called "New AM2 build". When I priced out the componants it made no sense to me to not go ahead and get the new socket and mobo for my friend. He had a descent budget and the price difference was not that big. Check out the componants I picked in the post and go from there.


Then go to my bands myspace site

www.myspace.com/sighlo
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

lol will do, thanks for the help, what do you play? I play the drums
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Quote:
so is there no way to get agp and pcie in the same card?
Actually, there was one shown at Computex. I just don't remember which GPU or company.

AGP on one side, PCIE on the other.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 01:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

HAHAHA I'm the drummer. Funny. Check out the music and let me know what you think? In a band? If so, let me know the site.
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

lol cool, ill check the music again in a minute, wasnt really listening for the drumming but yeah, im in a band. My kits a yamaha stage custom. zildjian K custom
__________________

__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.