My New Rig!!! *52k Warning* - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2007, 11:50 AM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

I would remove the battery and set the cmos reset jumper and leave it overnight.

Soemthing similar happened to my p5b deluxe once ..I thought it was dead but then tried it the next day and all was fine. (Actually turned out to be a bad set of ballistix making the mobo freak out)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:51 AM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

Okay, i will try that out before RMA.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:18 PM   #43 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
So if they say 'did you overclock it' what do I say?
When RMAing anything, you never give any information that COULD even HINT you voided the warranty or any, ANY way Screwed or changed or modified the product in ANY way, shape or form. Act as dumb as possible.. (Well not THAT dumb, but you get the point)
Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 02:23 PM   #44 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

if its not detecting the ram, try using diffferent ram if possible.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 05:14 AM   #45 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

mann its 9 degrees celcius in my place!!!! and i got this mobo that sucks at overclocking!!!! ANGERED!!!!! AND A SCYTHE NINJA! BUT NO MOBO MOUNTS/ BRACKETS!

and gurusan, that is exactly what my mobo did w/ my ram.. only after a certain point it just plain wouldnt take it.. even w/ a nights rest w/o battery...

but luckily i'll always have some 1.8v corsair ram sitting around!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:04 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Yeah, the 900 is absolutely beautiful. A little big, but gorgeous nonetheless.
Oh yeah, if I had a little more money id pick one up, my brother has one and not only is the design to my liking, but its dead silent and keeps things really cool.

Best case i've personally seen.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:08 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

What my plan is now:

1.) Leave out the CMOS battery, and all ATX power connectors out of my system until Saturday.

2.) Give my XMS2 to my friend to see if his system will work with it. (and get it back by thursday at the latest)

3.) Do some mods to my case on Saturday.

4.) Rebuild it, and hope it works.

5.) If not, try to RMA, and lie through my teeth in the attempt to get a new MOBO. (if its my RAM thats defective, then I will just buy some new OCZ Plats)

Sound good? If I give my RAM to my mate, whose system should be running on DDR2-667, (on an IL8) should it work fine and downclock?

I will post pics of my mods on Monday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakie View Post
Oh yeah, if I had a little more money id pick one up, my brother has one and not only is the design to my liking, but its dead silent and keeps things really cool.

Best case i've personally seen.
I agree with this. The top bit with all the plastic is a bit dodgy but the way that the airflow is directed is really well thought out.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:14 PM   #48 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

always lie when you RMA. "it just doesn't work"...always works.
of course, if it really doesnt work, its not lying.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:21 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Also does anyone have an idea of how I could somehow plug in my 8 pin CPU power lead without it being so obvious? Cause Im stuck on that one.

Also, my system was making LOADS and i mean LOADS of noise, so I unplugged my rear fan, and then it was pretty much near silent. My rear fan on low setting was making more noise than my two front fans on medium! Do you think that it is a faulty fan, or that it was the turbulance of it blowing against the wardrobe in the picture?
For my CPU power lead, I was able to route the cable around the mobo but idk if yours will be long enough to do that.

You definitely have a defective rear fan, all of the ones that came with mine don't make very much noise on medium let alone low. However it sounds like it's ready for liftoff if I have all my fans on high (except for the top 200mm fan which is near silent no matter what). I don't know if the noise was caused by turbulence or not but you could test that theory by temporarily moving the pc forward away from the wardrobe and see what happens with the back fan on.

Good luck with that RMA on your mobo.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 05:14 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: My New Rig!!! *52k Warning*

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
always lie when you RMA. "it just doesn't work"...always works.
of course, if it really doesnt work, its not lying.
i once was honest and that rma they didnt want to do. So i bought another identical product from somewhere else, swapped them and rma'd that back to amazon nice one amazon

lesson being.. Lie your head off (A)
__________________

__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pics of my new rig. Disillusion Off Topic Discussion 17 12-07-2007 09:38 AM
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Gaming rig 650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM
Troubleshooting my rig, pls help Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-04-2007 02:37 PM
Thinking of a new rig $1400 budget csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-25-2007 08:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.