My New Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2011, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default My New Rig

Hello everyone, this is what I had planned for my new gaming rig:

Case: Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower
PSU: 1200watt Coolermaster Gold Pro
MB: ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU: Intel i7-990X Extreme LGA 1366 ->Corsair Hydro H80 Liquid Cooler
GPUs: 2x Diamond Radeon HD 6990 ->Each with Artic Accelero Twin Turbo for 6990s
RAM: DDR3 24GB Corsair Vengeance @2000mhz 240 pin
HDD: 1TB HDD

Does this look like the sort of rig that could easily run a game like BF3 on ultra high settings with good fps? I've been out of pc building for a while due to me being deployed for a little over a year. Also, is the second 6990 a little much? If I can run BF3 and similar games off of just 1 6990, I'd like to use my other PCI-E slot for a Solid State Drive, as my only real bottleneck ATM seems to be my machanical HDD.
__________________

Devoid20 is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: My New Rig

I'm not completely sure on this, but You would be better off with a 1155 motherboard. 1366 is old. Plus, with the 1155, you can get the latest sandy bridge CPUs.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: My New Rig

Ya, I'd stick with 1155, or 2011, and go with a single 6990, or a GTX 590...and if you want a fast drive, I'd go with an OCZ Revo Drive...but they aren't cheap...although, by the looks of things, that isn't an issue?

Also, I'd get G.Skill memory, or some that has shorter heatsinks (low profile) because they have caused some issues with 3rd party cpu coolers...not sure if this pertains to the H80 or not...
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: My New Rig

Ok, made a few changes:
Case: Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower
PSU: 1200watt Coolermaster Silent Gold Pro
MB: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme LGA 2011
CPU: Intel i7-3960X ->Corsair Hydro H80 Liquid Cooler
GPUs: 2x Diamond Radeon HD 6990 ->Each with Artic Accelero Twin Turbo for 6990s
RAM: DDR3 24GB Corsair low profile @2133mhz 240 pin
HDD: 1TB HDD
SSD: OCZ Revodrive 3 series 120gb

Any other advice?
Devoid20 is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 10:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: My New Rig

id just go for a GTX 590 instead. Two GPUs on one card, more space left and less heat inside. Im running a Single GTX560 and i can play BF3 on max settings. Oh and its good you changed to the LGA 2011 since the 1366 is being discontinued.
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default Re: My New Rig

You can also get i7 3930K which is almost half the price of 3960X. The difference between the two is very small, and both have unlocked multiplier.

I would also like to mention that ATI HD7970 is going to be out this month. It is about 20-25% faster than Nvidia GTX 580 according to 3rd party reviews
__________________

GoogleIntel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rebuilding current rig - server/gaming rig.. help? anime_dude07 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-30-2009 11:12 AM
New Rig Help zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-26-2007 04:45 PM
Money problem! Need help cutting down a 2k rig to 1.5k rig! Fayt19 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-25-2006 11:45 AM
New Rig on the Way. What ya Think? AuThoRitY Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-16-2005 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.