My New i7 Build (56k lulz) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2009, 08:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
ROFL. 1TB in Raid 0.
Now i know you didnt have the competence to build this yourself.

(Jokes.)
I dont understand...

whats wrong with striping 1tb drives?
__________________

KShirza1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Why would you put 1000GB of data in Raid 0?
100% higher chance of loosing everything.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Why would you put 1000GB of data in Raid 0?
100% higher chance of loosing everything.
cause i can... ??

plus it would be 2000gb if data at that point with massive speed.

Is their certain system build ethic guidline im not aware of on this site in a sticky somewhere i should read?
KShirza1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KShirza1 View Post
cause i can... ??

plus it would be 2000gb if data at that point with massive speed.

Is their certain system build ethic guidline im not aware of on this site in a sticky somewhere i should read?
Raid 0:
Fault Tolerance: None. Failure of any drive results in loss of all data.

Its smart to put two 250GB HDD's together in Raid 0 for your OS and have as much as you want additional.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Edit.
are you sure...

do your homework brother

****it almost quoted you slipping up
KShirza1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

You are going to lose a lot of stuff if one fail. Also the seek time won't be good since it is a big HDD.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

I wouldn't personally RAID 0 1TB drives but do what you want. I guess just make sure you backup your data.

Oh and stop double posting. Edit your posts if you have something else to say before somebody replies. This isn't AIM. It helps to keep things organized and clear.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KShirza1 View Post
are you sure...

do your homework brother
Yeah i misread your earlier post. Sorry.

But yes, its not worth doing it with TB drives.
PS: Anything wrong with that case? Or would you recommend it?
Looks like its solid.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Raid 0:
Fault Tolerance: None. Failure of any drive results in loss of all data.

Its smart to put two 250GB HDD's together in Raid 0 for your OS and have as much as you want additional.
I understand maybe you can tell me why thay call it RAID when there isnt any redundency at all?

I could do 4 1tb's with groups in raid 1 and the final 2 arrays in raid 0

speed and redundency... eh?
KShirza1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: My New i7 Build (56k lulz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KShirza1 View Post
I understand maybe you can tell me why thay call it RAID when there isnt any redundency at all?

I could do 4 1tb's with groups in raid 1 and the final 2 arrays in raid 0

speed and redundency... eh?
That just sounds like a waste of money lol
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
Budget build in a few months Drizzt System Upgrades 4 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.