My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2007, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

Well, my old system specifications looking like this:
AMD 64 2800+
3GIGS DDR 333 Ram
ATi X1300 Graphics Card
Thermaltake 480W PSU
Gigabyte K8-Triton Mobo
Maxtor 80GIG IDE HDD
Windows Vista Premium

I felt it was time for me to upgrade to the current PCI-Express, Dual Core, SATA age that computers have come to. So, this is my new build that will be arriving via UPS tomorrow;

The New Rig
  • AMD X2 Dual-Core 6000+ 3Ghz CPU
  • eVGA 8800GTS 640Mb GDDR3 Graphics Card
  • Gigabyte AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 AMD Motherboard
  • Corsair XMS2 2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM PC2 6400
  • Antek TruPower Trio 550W PSU
  • Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 320GB SATA HDD
  • Thermaltake Xaser][ Case w/ Window
  • Windows Vista Premium 32-Bit

I was stuck between the eVGA 8800GTS Superclocked 640Mb or the one I bought, but I got a good deal on the one I got so, oh well =) I will be one of the few who will be able to play Crysis on almost maxed out settings [Yay!]

Quick question though. I would be interested in a month or so to buy another 2 Gigs of RAM but with Windows Vista 32-Bit, I know you can only have 4GIG's Max of physical memory, but does this mean 4GIG's of RAM or 4GIG's including RAM, GFX Card and CPU? <-If all 3 are included in this 4GIGS, then getting more RAM would be useless as it wouldn't read.

The reason I ask is because a few people say it's the 3; CPU, Gfx & RAM while others tell me it's just straight 4GIGs Max of RAM and that CPU & Gfx Card do not matter. <-If that is the case, then I would definitly get 2 more gigs of RAM

Also, what are some recommended programs to overclock my Video Card? CPU?

Thanks and I can't wait to build it tomorrow!
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

it is most certainly 4gb of ram, there is no combination of memory.
__________________

fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastrandstrongr View Post
it is most certainly 4gb of ram, there is no combination of memory.
Thank you very much =) I figured that would be the case but everyone I talked to, who I thought knew what they were talking about (They claimed they were vista experts <_<) said it was all 3 and started making me believe it >.< ; so I had to ask lol
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

Looks great except for your operating system! it may work fine for you but personally it wasnt any good for me, and i dont have any old hardware yet my webcam and control panel for my sound wouldnt install properly so i was back on xp within 2 days! try it, might be ok
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

32 bit operating systems can only recognize about 3.2Gb of RAM, 64bit OS's can handle alot more.

The system ram and the ram on the gfx card are two totaly seperate issues and no you do not add them up.

There is really no need for 4Gb of ram unless you have a 64bit OS and use intense graphics software (CAD, 3D, photoshop etc.) for games there is not yet any benifit.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

just read something from codinghorror.com:

In the absence of the PAE switch, the Windows memory manager is limited to a 4 GB physical address space. Most of that address space is filled with RAM, but not all of it. Memory-mapped devices (such as your video card) will use some of that physical address space, as will the BIOS ROMs. After all the non-memory devices have had their say, there will be less than 4GB of address space available for RAM below the 4GB physical address boundary.

gotta learn somethin everyday i guess
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
Looks great except for your operating system! it may work fine for you but personally it wasnt any good for me, and i dont have any old hardware yet my webcam and control panel for my sound wouldnt install properly so i was back on xp within 2 days! try it, might be ok
Well, I am currently running Vista on my older setup and it works fine. Audio works, Video works .. everything runs good.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

nice rig.
i heart amd.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

you asked about the overclocking?

use ati tool for GPU, CPU ur bios........
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: My New Extreme-Gaming Machine. Quick Question too

Core 2 Duo E6600 usually cost the same as 6000+, it would be better if you could get that instead of 6000+

Edit: But since you are getting your computer tomorrow, I assume that you can't change anything.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
Tech Question on LCD's and gaming Ultra Steel PC Gaming 10 04-16-2007 09:30 PM
Quick question please help revenge2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 04-14-2007 06:27 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM
quick question Fozzy New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-25-2007 09:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.