My new build... Input? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2008, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default My new build... Input?

-Rosewill R6426-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
-Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600AAJS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
-EVGA 256-P2-N751-TR GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
-Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply - Retail
- A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model ADQVE1A16K - Retail
-GIGABYTE GA-P31-S3G LGA 775 Intel P31 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
-Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 Conroe 2.33GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E6550 - Retail
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

Grand total w/tax and shipping= $543
I already have a cd/dvd rw

Does this look good? Anything I am missing? Anything I should change?

Any input is appreciated!

Thanks
__________________

Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: My new build... Input?

it is says the shopping cart is empty, probably because we cant see whats on your account.

Maybe copy and paste your shopping cart into paint or something, save it and upload it.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: My new build... Input?

We can't see that. Likes the parts.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: My new build... Input?

Edited

My bad
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: My new build... Input?

hmm what do you plan to use it for?

I've heard bad things about some of Thermaltakes power supplies, not sure about that one, although a 500w power supply might be a better idea to start with. Someone else will have to help you out picking one.

Also i haven't heard of A-Data, other's probably have i just haven't seen it around in the UK. It;s better to go with a more name brand though.

GRRR newegg isn't working for me atm, it hasn't been working well all day, sorry i can't sent links.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: My new build... Input?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeyboy View Post
hmm what do you plan to use it for?

I've heard bad things about some of Thermaltakes power supplies, not sure about that one, although a 500w power supply might be a better idea to start with. Someone else will have to help you out picking one.

Also i haven't heard of A-Data, other's probably have i just haven't seen it around in the UK. It;s better to go with a more name brand though.

GRRR newegg isn't working for me atm, it hasn't been working well all day, sorry i can't sent links.
The A-Data is rated 5 stars with 814 reviews....... Im assuming thats good lol
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: My new build... Input?

well like i said i just haven't seen it before and my internets going weird so i can't check, someone else more qualified will comment soon i'm sure.:happy:

Hmmm your mobo specs seem to state it can't handle any better then DDr2 667 memory, so you need a better board to support the ram you want and i suggest doing so.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: My new build... Input?

Oops I changed the mobo but forgot to update it.

its a GIGABYTE GA-P31-S3G LGA 775 Intel P31 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail (Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P31-S3G LGA 775 Intel P31 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards)

It says it supports 1066 memory, does that mean it can use anything under that? (800) Or it can only use 1066?
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: My new build... Input?

yeah by supports it means up to, so yes you can use below it, that's fine. Oh hey you still haven't said exactly what you want to use the puter for?
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: My new build... Input?

Oh yeah,

Some gaming (Black hawk down, BF2, COD4)

And maybe some photoshop (not much)
__________________

Pain53 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
Calculated Build... Input appreciated. Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-14-2008 12:31 AM
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
New Build: need substantive input neoinarien New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2007 08:00 PM
One of the many build input threads Eagleboy New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-01-2007 08:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.