My New Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 03:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Arrow My New Build

Just want to see what everyone thinks of it, if it's bad, good, useless, whatever. All the specs are in my sig. I'm hoping to have built it by the beginning or middle of April, and to stop people wasting their breath, no, I'm not gonna wait for AM2 or G80.



Oh, and I can't change the ones in red, cos I was definite on them, and have already purchased them.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Great looking build. Everything there looks fine, but I'd prefer an MX518 mouse over the G5 according to what I've seen and researched on. Cords drive me insane in FPS games though, so I'm going probably going to get an MX1000 when I get the money. I got a cheap and used MX700 off eBay, but ended up screwing myself because it will eat a set of AA batteries in a few hours or less of gameplay, whether rechargable or not.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, I was thinking of getting a cordless. The wireless equivalent of the G5 looks good. It doesn't take batteries, only rechargeable cartridges.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I haven't liked the reviews I've read on the G7. So, I'll hopefully be getting an MX1000 whenever I get the money to spare.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I saw a review on the G7 and it was supposedly just as good as the G5, but cordless. I like how it doesn't have batteries either, just two rechargeable cartridges. It's a good idea.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

thats an excellent bulid, but isnt the opte better? o nvm, u already got the Mobo.

Yeah that looks like a sexy build. Have fun with it man.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Haha, yeah. There are some Optys that are s939 though arent there?
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

i believe the opteron 165 and 170 are.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 01:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

alot more than just the 165 and 170.... don't forget the 144, 146, and 148 if your going to go with single core

the x2 3800 is about the same price as an opteron 165 the last time a checked (that was like a month ago..) and has twice the cache, if its the same price there i think you should go for that instead
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 02:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

nah, its $100-$150 more I think. Isn't it only good if you wanna overclock it though? I'm not a confident overclocker, so I don't wanna try.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.