My new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2010, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default My new build

Finally building a computer for myself It comes in on Monday :-D

Here are the parts

Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
1090t 6 core AMD
4 gigs 1600 gskill ripjaw
750gb 32mb seagate hdd
Midsize thermaltake armor + MX ($50 off with processor combo)
5830 (got it for $200)
__________________

ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: My new build

I got the parts in today and unluckily It wont boot. The DRam light stays on the Motherboard. For the board it goes through the process of of checking the cpu, dram, vga then boot. a light for both. Since its getting stuck on dram i receive no bios screen no nothing.

I'm going to try my friends ram from his computer tonight and hopefully it will work. If not I may have gotten a bad motherboard i think :-(
__________________

ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: My new build

Make sure you try just one stick at a time, and in different slots.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Make sure you try just one stick at a time, and in different slots.
i tried and got nothing. still the same dram error sadly. tried every slot on the board. two diff stick and nothing

buddie is on his way now going to pull a stick out of his comp so we will see. i really don't want to take it apart again
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 05:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZorrosRage View Post
buddie is on his way now going to pull a stick out of his comp so we will see. i really don't want to take it apart again

Got everything working.



One thing I am amazed about is how cool the new chip runs.

It is overclocked to 3.74
I am getting.
21-22c (idle surfing web)

49-50c (running prime

That is with the stock heat sink

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZorrosRage View Post
Got everything working.



One thing I am amazed about is how cool the new chip runs.

It is overclocked to 3.74
I am getting.
21-22c (idle surfing web)

49-50c (running prime

That is with the stock heat sink
its at 3.9 right now room is pretty warm, and still decent temps for it

stock cooler
overclocked to 3.9
idle 30c
54-55c with full load for 30min

What do you guys think?
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My new build

Stress Test it with LinX, select the "ALL" button, set it to run for 75 minutes and then hit start

LinX

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 06:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: My new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Stress Test it with LinX, select the "ALL" button, set it to run for 75 minutes and then hit start

LinX

Running it now, but what i was useing for temperature was AMD Overdrive and Linx Errors when i had it with it. When i tried to install speedfan it would not tell me the temps of all my cores i dont think it supports my processor yet so i dont know what to use as a temp gauge besides overdrive.
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My new build

Try CoreTemp as it was just updated (4/26/2010) to support new and future AMD and Intel CPUs

Core Temp

And LinX could be erroring because the CPU needs more volts
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Try CoreTemp as it was just updated (4/26/2010) to support new and future AMD and Intel CPUs

Core Temp

And LinX could be erroring because the CPU needs more volts
increased my voltage a little bit and will see what happens

Room got pretty warm because of no AC but here is results. It is currently 28-29 idle in warm room

ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 04:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: My new build

Sorry for quality they were taken from my phone














The Case Sucks *** for cable Management lol
__________________

__________________
Motherboard: Crosshair IV Formula
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T x6
GPU: XFX 5830
Memory: 4Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw 1600
Case: Thermaltake Armor+ MX Mid Tower
Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
ZorrosRage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Beginner Build Guide Spit-wad New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-29-2009 10:17 PM
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
$1000 CAD Build xxfirexx New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-12-2009 05:00 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.