my new AM2 system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 06:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i dont plan on using the integrated video....i can turn it off if i got a diff card in it right? i got a xfx geforce 7600gt pci x-press 16x

Well, ill be back in an hour or so, im gonna see if a full atx ps will fit in the case...gotta pull the one outta this, so be back in a few
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 06:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

I Still don't suggest you buy a mobo with intergrated video.

I have one on one of my internet computers and even though its on off mode the computer performs poorly [and it has 1gb of ram and an OK amd a64 processor]

They are usualy slow motherboards, you better off getting a one without it to begin with .

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 09:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea i get u on that one, ill see what newegg gots..k well the hp case uses a full atx power supply, so i aint limited there, and i found out that the ps in the hp is what fried it in the firstplace....yea im not going with athena power ever, it dosent even have enough strength to powerup a system that uses under 200wats, and its a 350, sad...well it can take a full atx ps with one exception, it has to be extremely short, it can be wide, and tall, but a fullone thats about 5.75 inches long is so long in that short chassis, that there is no room to hook up the connectors to the cd/dvd drives...a full one can fit, but the dvd/whatever has to be a maximum of 7 inches long, any longer and the molex wont fit..k...now for the mobo i was thinking along the lines of this but thats atx, and i need matx, and i cant find crap for a socket am2 matx that dont got onboard video....crap
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

nevermind, i checked the measurements, and ittl all fit all good, but still, the motherboard, has to be am2, has to be matx, but cant have onboard video,....cant find crap for that...can nebody search somewhere, see wat u kan find?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default the only one that works

k found one, but, ****, its a ****ing socket 939...should i chance it and go with a socket 939? the only mobo
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

quite the delima there, you sure you cant get a mid tower, and put some handles on it, better cooling more space to work with.

I know you want it to be small for LAN, but with a mid you could really light it up and show off the inside.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

na, i just got a kick *** matx case....i got a atx but its ugly as ****, none of the cases at newegg realy catch my eye except for the lanboy....
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

Go with this biostar Mobo:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138027

Way better than the others you listed, yes it does have onboard video, just disable it.

I like your ram choice. You'll be able to overclock it like crazy from what I hear
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

k im goin with that mobo, but now i gotta get a powersupply..ill pick one out and make my final list, then im gonna get it
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default The FINAL list!!!

OK, heres the final list... anything wrong with it? sounds pretty good to me

Powersupply

Motherboard

Processor

RAM

Video Cooling

Harddrive

Case Cooling

DVD Burner

Monitor

Keyboard

Mouse
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.