MY Monster Gaming Rig! Under $2300! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2005, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default MY Monster Gaming Rig! Under $2300!

Thermaltake XASER, Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $150

ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $250

ASUS EN7800GTXTOP/2DHTV/256M Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 TOP Limited Edition Video Card - Retail (might change to eVga 7800 GT CO) $589

Antec TruePower 2.0 TRUECONTROL II-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail $110

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA4400CDBOX - Retail $500

2x OCZ Gold Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4001024ELDCGE-K - Retail $280

Western Digital Raptor WD740GD 74GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM $160

TOSHIBA Black IDE DVD Burner Model SD-R5372V - OEM $40

ZALMAN CNPS7700-CU 120mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan with Copper Heatsink - Retail $55

Microsoft Windows XP Home Upgrade with SP2 - Retail $100

If anyone has any suggestions or comments please tell me!

All Items found at newegg
__________________

Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

May i ask, why only 74GB and why 10K RPM? I just find it a little uneccessary for 10K RPM.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

If you have that much money get Nvidia's new Video card released yesterday a 512meg card running for $780. It's only a minor upgrade over what you currently want.

You may want 1 more gig of ram

You should at least buy a 120gig harddrive they are cheap.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

4GB will kill windows

get the 7800GTX 512MB

and get the CNPS9500 better cooling then the 7700 runs around 70 bucks
go with eVGA

what about the DFI nF4 SLi-DR
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
If you have that much money get Nvidia's new Video card released yesterday a 512meg card running for $780. It's only a minor upgrade over what you currently want.

You may want 1 more gig of ram

You should at least buy a 120gig harddrive they are cheap.
I do have 2gbs notice the 2x infront of the RAM

And where can I find a place to buy the 512mb?
__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think that XP Home supports dual core CPU's. I think only Pro does. Not 100% sure though.....
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j4ckaL
Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think that XP Home supports dual core CPU's. I think only Pro does. Not 100% sure though.....
Yes, XP Home does support dual core cpu's.
You are licensed per physical socket and not by cores per cpu.

Are you planning to use a sound card in this rig? And will you ever upgrade to SLI? Because if you do upgrade to SLI and want to use a sound card in this rig, it's going to be very difficult to get the PCI sound card fit into the PCI slots that are wedged between the two PCI express 16x slots.

Not a major deal, but something you just might want to consider.
Also, if you're not going to USE SLI, then don't bother with the ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe as it's a MOBO that has been designed specifically for that use. Don't get me wrong it can be used without SLI, but why spend an extra $75 to $100 dollars?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default Re: MY Monster Gaming Rig! Under $2300!

Quote:
Originally posted by Sp4rtan

ASUS EN7800GTXTOP/2DHTV/256M Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 TOP Limited Edition Video Card - Retail (might change to eVga 7800 GT CO) $589


If anyone has any suggestions or comments please tell me!
589 sounds like a lot for that card......... i got mine for 490.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default Re: Re: MY Monster Gaming Rig! Under $2300!

Quote:
Originally posted by GuitarFreak1857
589 sounds like a lot for that card......... i got mine for 490.
The Asus comes factory overclocked to 486/1350.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 07:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

but still, eVGA has one that comes overclocked and its like 500.... what's the core clock speed?

EDIT: my b, i thought you guys were talking about this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121201

ok, yeah i saw that one that he's getting, they say its only compatible with Asus mobos? that things huge....... it looks like the 512MB version.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.