My first PC, hows it look? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default My first PC, hows it look?

Hey guys, i just registered here and thought i could get some good advice on my first comp, Here are the specs. Please let me know if i should tweak it in any other way. Thanks!



Case
CD ROM (Not too concerned bout it)
HD Monitor
Vid Card Power Supply
Cooling RAM Motherboard CPU
__________________

KCmilam is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

meh,

your rich

other than that i wouldve gone amd and gotten better ram
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Not bad but im assuming your going to be gaming because of the video card, right? Are you planning on OCing? What is your available budget?

If your are going to be, go with an AMD 3800, or Opteron 165. As for the power supply, check out the OCZ powerstream 520W or 600W, the Antec True Power series. If you go with an AMD and want to OC, go with a DFI, if not OCing check out the MSI Neo4-f. If you are going to OC, look into some better ram like OCZ, g. skill. If not get some valueram.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

If your gonna plan on Over clocking which I assume you are with that water cooler go for an AMD Opteron 165. If you're not gonna OC loose the watercooler.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You may want to get a different hard drive. Kinda expensive for only 36 gigs and its SCSI. The 10K RPM isnt that great, go for a bigger SATAII drive or if you NEED the 10K RPM, get the WD raptor.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vybuni
You may want to get a different hard drive. Kinda expensive for only 36 gigs and its SCSI. The 10K RPM isnt that great, go for a bigger SATAII drive or if you NEED the 10K RPM, get the WD raptor.
Lol, i forgot to mention that but i was thinking about it.

You could also get two drives and then put them in a RAID0 setup to get almost raptor speeds.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

Well looks ok.
But i would get a NEC dvd writer as i have heard that these are the fastest and the best but i suppose it really makes no difference.

If your gonna play games a would deffinatly recommend getting a AMD Opetheron or a dual core Athlon. These are better than the Athlon 64's in many ways and aren't much more expensive. And AMD processors are way better for games than intel. But if you do stuff like video editing then the intel processors have the raw power. I would say that dual core has a future but at the moment it's not really worth the extra expense. But if you wanna invest in the future go dual core.

You would have to change the mobo if you went to AMD so get the same one you already have except in socket 939.

If your overclocking go for some overclocking RAM and if you go AMD then your'll need to get DDR RAM not DDR 2. I would say that the best RAM manufacturer is corsair. And I would get 4x 512MB RAM modules and run them in duel channel mode as this would be faster than 2x 1GB. But if your gonna add more RAM in the future then stay with 2x 1GB chips.

If your overclocking i would recommend using air cooling or get watercooling with a radiator with fans on. The water tower would be good enough if you don't overclock and it has no fans so no noise but if you want better cooling get a raditor with fans on as these don't slow the water flow as much as a water tower and cool it better but then theres noise But if you want cheap cooling with noise air is the way to go.

The PSU doesn't need to be so powerful for your system especially if your not overclocking. 500W should be plenty for your system if you overclock it otherwise 400W would be fine. And consider getting a passively cooled one if you go with the water tower. So then theres no noise.

The hard drive doesn't really need to be 10000 RPM as your system wouldn't really utilise the extra speed much but it's mainly up to you.

Other than that it looks great. I'm just saying this out of experience but the one you have currently would run a treat i was just suggesting things to save you money and maybe it run faster.
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

DFI UT NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GTX
2*1GB OCZ platinuim
Opty 165/170
WD 150GB raptor
NEC IDE Dvd burner
same case sure
Antec truepower 550W power supply/ OCZ 520W powerstream
I would get the reserator plus from zalman, the black one.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

I hope you aren't planning on gonig to any lanparties :P

Get a nicer case by Antec or something. Get a better powersupply by Antec or Fortron FSP. Why 3DFuzion? BFG makes the OC series aswell, get the 7800GTX overclocked from BFG Tech. And yeah, last but not least, get an AMD processor.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The 3Dfuzion is a BFG card.

Definately go AMD if your gaming.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.