My First Computer Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default My First Computer Build

I wanted to create a powerful gaming computer that i could upgrade in the future. I BELIEVE i got all the main parts except for the hard drive and DVD drive which i will use from this computer. I'll list the parts here and it would be very helpful if you guys could let me know what you think.

CPU-325.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...256&CatId=2328

Motherboard-190.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...333&CatId=2320

Memory-239.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...987&CatId=2264

Video Card-190.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&Sku=E145-7858

Power Supply-106.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...997&CatId=1483

Case-95.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1717580

I think these are the main parts for the computer . If i've missed anything out just let me know. If you have better suggestions, please try to keep it around the same price. And it must be from www.tigerdirect.ca.
P.S. I know that the video card is not the best , but from what i've heard, it's pretty good. What i can do is take away a gig or ram and add the money (which would be around a 100 bucks) toward a better video card if that's what you guys think is necessary.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

dont get the 4600+ get the 4200+ or the 3800+ and overclock, to save somemoney, then buy a better video card lol, just the regular 7900GT
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
dont get the 4600+ get the 4200+ or the 3800+ and overclock, to save somemoney, then buy a better video card lol, just the regular 7900GT
The thing is, this is a setup for my friend and he knows very little about computers. He doesn't know how to overclock. But that is a good idea. I'll look into that. It could save me 100 bucks.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
dont get the 4600+ get the 4200+ or the 3800+ and overclock, to save somemoney, then buy a better video card lol, just the regular 7900GT
Here is an updated build of the computer:
CPU-252.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...247&CatId=2328

Motherboard-190.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...333&CatId=2320

Memory-171.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1482923

Video Card-331.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...945396&CatId=0

Power Supply-106.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...997&CatId=1483

Case-95.99
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1717580

I switched the processor to a 4200+ and removed 1 gig. With the money saved i got the 7900 GT video card. However, if this video card isn't a lot better than the previous one i had, i think it would be better to stick with my other outline because i could have another gig of ram. And one last thing....there are so many different kinds of the 7900 video cards. Which one is better between these 2....
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...945396&CatId=0

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

Thanks a lot in advance.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

there's some people on this forum who would say to skip the 4200 and get a 3800 instead and OC it a lot. I would personally go with the 4600 since it has a bigger cache, and OC that more. Secondly, I'd hold off on the video card for now, and get something cheaper like a 7600 or 6800 and wait until the DX10 cards come out soon. Just my thoughts....
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
there's some people on this forum who would say to skip the 4200 and get a 3800 instead and OC it a lot. I would personally go with the 4600 since it has a bigger cache, and OC that more. Secondly, I'd hold off on the video card for now, and get something cheaper like a 7600 or 6800 and wait until the DX10 cards come out soon. Just my thoughts....
Yea, i pretty much agree with you. There is no way i would take the 3800+ so it would either be the 4200+ or 4600+. However, since there is not even a hundred dollars difference in the price , it's worth sticking with the 4600+ because i wouldn't really be able to buy a much better video card with the extra money. I'd have to take away a gig of ram so i would have enough for the better video card and i'd much rather have 2. My friend has a 6800 GT nVidia and he can run all the newest games, so i'm sure that a 7600 nVidia can do the same and evern better.

P.S. Does the ram and motherboard go together? Are all the parts compatible with eachother?
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i just wish i had the money to build something like that, right now i have whats in my sig, it ain't bad though
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah, and you can upgrade your video card later instead of paying a lot of money now to just upgrade later. about the memory and the motherboard, I'm not too familiar with AM2 socket, but I think those are compatable because AM2 takes DDR2 and your ram is DDR2. Someone else confirm that though.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

AM2 you use DDR2 800...
reckliss is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 03:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

My suggestion would be to go with the 4200+ instead of the 4600+. They have a very small difference in performance. And also, get 2 GB of RAM with the money you save with the 4200+, but still get the 7600GT, which should do you fine.
__________________

__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.