My first comp has been ordered - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 04:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Take it all apart and start again
(Sorry, couldn't help myself...)

If and when you get the money, your two biggest concerns need to be the video card and processor, because both are becoming dated fast. You can upgrade to dual core proc wise, so that shouldn't be too much of a worry. Video card wise, you may need to worry more, though, should you start to play some of the newer and more demanding games because it's going to stop being able to keep up with them on decent settings soon.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Well good luck with your computer. But if you wanted to know if those specs could play CSS and AoE III then you should have posted it in the PC gaming section where people wouldn't criticize the computer. Usually when you post specs on your new computer it in this section people will give their opinion on the actual rig. Anyways it should play those games fine. But I do agree that the 6600 GT is starting to show it's age, even for a budget card.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
Take it all apart and start again
(Sorry, couldn't help myself...)

If and when you get the money, your two biggest concerns need to be the video card and processor, because both are becoming dated fast. You can upgrade to dual core proc wise, so that shouldn't be too much of a worry. Video card wise, you may need to worry more, though, should you start to play some of the newer and more demanding games because it's going to stop being able to keep up with them on decent settings soon.
I should be able to upgrade bnoth though to good standerd though right? I meen duel core CPU and switch u the graphics card 9im using PCI-E) and i can run ok, not to mention i can always upgrade the ram ect
ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

A dual core pentium is crap. They're not going to be making a lot more for that socket since 771 is comming out. Video card, very old and dated. However, I'm %99 positive you'll be in love with this machine (because you haven't been exposed to really good graphics). That is until you build yourself an AMD.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 02:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Well i just hooked it up and..... every thing truns awsome. I was playing age of empires 3 pretty much maxed out with anti aliasing full and was just plaing CS:S with full res for my LCD and no problems so far
ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya congrats you should have no problems runnin those games..


but $900?! are you kidding?! man you woulda gotten a SCREAMER. but in the end you got your dad's trust for intel. thats always good for something.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 08:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
ya congrats you should have no problems runnin those games..


but $900?! are you kidding?! man you woulda gotten a SCREAMER. but in the end you got your dad's trust for intel. thats always good for something.
Ya thats true, i tryed to convince him other wise, but lets just say when an iranian father tells u he doesnt like something he doesnt like it
ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

lol

have you seen the movie crash? (won the oscar for best film!) there's that old iranian guy that always swears..funny character, you just reminded me of him.. lol

quote from movie: "why? you have friend fix doors?"
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

yeah that machine will be good for that job. about the p4 its not that they are bad, their ok, its just that athlons are better. faster, they let off less heat, and are cheaper. heh right now im typing on a p4 at school. lets see my computer> properties> here we go:
2.8ghz 504mb ram intel 915 integrated graphics (12mb) groans >.<
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.