My first build! What do you reckon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamPNE

Baseband Member
I've been reading these forums for a short while now, to try and get some ideas about a new pc i'm hoping to build. I'm new to this kinda thing, I have installed pci-e cards, ram and a hard drive, but thats about it. I have no experience of dealing with the high-tech wizardry of processors and motherboards.

Anyway, enough rambling. Here is my new build (after the processor price cuts):

Antec Nine Hundred
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (possibly Q6600)
GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400C4
Gigabyte P35C DS3R
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU

I will be using my current GeForce 7900GS for now, and all other components from my current pc (storage, cd/dvd drives etc)

So, what do you think? I thought the mobo would be future-proof, so I can put DDR3 ram in it later, and the processor seems popular for overclockers, which is what I want to get into.

One thing I have no idea about is cooling. What seems to work best. I have heard methods, such as heatsink, water coooling and peltier, but what works the best? Could anyone recommend me some good stuff?

Also, is 600w enough for a PSU?
Thanks in advance :D

Don't look into DDR3 just yet. Motherboards that support two kinds of RAM, can be a little buggy. Just go for the regular Gigabyte P35-DS3R.

That power supply series in particular has a ripple effect on it's rails, and it's not that bad, but it's not good either. 600w is more than enough, but I'd suggest a better series than GameXStream. I'd recommend power supplies like these:
SeaSonic 550w or Corsair 520HX
They both have plenty of amps, to support a high-end system. It's not about the wattage.

RAM, is good. GeIL is not a bad company. Most will tell you, to go for the G. Skill DDR2-800 HZs.